infonews.co.nz + Add Your News
NEWS   PHOTOS   PROFILES   INDEX  

West Coast News Index


Tuesday, 18 February
3:26PM COMEDY fresh-up Real NZ Comedy Tour Comes to Westport 138

Wednesday, 31 July
1:10PM EMPLOYMENT Solid Energy fined for injuring miner 195

Thursday, 9 May
2:47PM BUSINESS Local Travel Agency Picks Up National Prize 189

Friday, 25 January
3:12PM TRAFFIC Motorcyclist killed near Reefton 245

Tuesday, 6 November
8:43AM BUSINESS EPMU welcomes Pike River report 157

Friday, 24 August
1:41PM POLICE Police find missing money 215

Thursday, 23 August
11:25AM POLICE Elderly Greymouth man loses large sum of money 201

Wednesday, 15 August
1:25PM WATER Hokitika Township water supply tests clear for 1080 133

Monday, 30 July
1:24PM TOURISM The business of working with Mother Nature 252

Sunday, 15 July
3:10PM TRAFFIC Severe flooding around Westport 253

Thursday, 28 June
1:01PM TOURISM Glacier changes deliver new opportunity for leading New Zealand tourism operator 241

Friday, 22 June
12:57PM DEATHS Police name driver killed in Hokitika crash 243
12:35PM DEATHS Teen driver dies in late night West Coast crash 224

Wednesday, 13 June
6:01PM TRAFFIC Safety upgrade for central Greymouth intersection 188

Saturday, 9 June
7:12PM DEATHS Australian dies in West Coast road accident 268

Tuesday, 29 May
12:05AM TRANSPORT Repairs for highway bridge in south Westland 141

Tuesday, 15 May
1:42PM POLICE Parcels from Paris 144

Wednesday, 2 May
4:52PM NEWS Water Rescue 140

Sunday, 29 April
5:13PM SEARCH AND RESCUE Police confident no body in water 165
2:06PM POLICE Search continues for missing West Coast driver 147

Saturday, 28 April
2:09PM SEARCH AND RESCUE Search resumes for missing driver 226
2:06PM SEARCH AND RESCUE Greymouth Search & Rescue 227

Sunday, 22 April
5:20PM FIRE Water Rescue 182

Wednesday, 18 April
7:45PM DEATHS Driver thrown from vehicle in fatal Haast crash 213

Saturday, 14 April
3:22PM CYCLING Odlin and Cooper win Around Brunner 284

Friday, 13 April
2:10PM CYCLING Oceania Champ leads Brunner entries 409

Thursday, 22 March
10:41AM AGRICULTURE Westland Milk Products wins top R&D Award at NZ International Business Awards 155

Wednesday, 21 March
5:21PM FISHING 15,000 salmon smolt released into lakes 200

Monday, 19 March
5:52PM FISHING 15,000 salmon smolt to be released tomorrow 188

Friday, 9 March
2:02PM BUSINESS Update regarding the sale of the Pike River coal mine 131

Tuesday, 21 February
8:59AM AGRICULTURE Close finish in Greymouth 346

Wednesday, 1 February
3:32PM COURT Charges laid after fatal Otira truck crash 268

Tuesday, 31 January
2:44PM COURT Pike River Hearing – Greymouth District Court 194

Monday, 30 January
2:36PM COURT Administrative Call For Parties Charged Over Pike River Explosion 163

Tuesday, 24 January
7:39PM DEATHS German tourist dies at Franz Joseph 228
7:27PM SEARCH AND RESCUE Swimmer missing on West Coast of South Island 194

Wednesday, 18 January
11:25AM NEWS Pike River Royal Commission Plans for Policy Work and Final Hearings 62

Monday, 16 January
9:04AM BUSINESS Westland Milk Products announced finalist in NZ International Business Awards 84

Friday, 30 December
5:06AM DEATHS Haast double fatal update 181

Thursday, 29 December
2:03PM DEATHS Second person dies after Haast crash 217

Friday, 23 December
1:56PM ALCOHOL Search uncovers bootleg liquor operation 155

Wednesday, 21 December
1:02AM ALCOHOL Disappointing result in Westport Controlled Purchase Operation 84

Friday, 16 December
12:14PM BUSINESS Update regarding the sale of the Pike River coal mine and progress on tunnel reclamation 101

Monday, 12 December
2:05PM DEATHS Waiho River victims named 180
12:27PM BUSINESS Solid Energy Amateur Sports Awards Trust rewards eight talented West Coasters 102

Saturday, 10 December
9:36PM DEATHS 2 Tourists die at Franz Josef 327

Friday, 9 December
4:44PM BUSINESS Runanga/Dunollie community's pool fundraising marathon ends with a splash 217

Wednesday, 30 November
1:14PM BUSINESS Final day for Pike River CEO 137

Tuesday, 29 November
8:55AM COURT Four witnesses called for December Pike River Royal Commission hearings 153

Thursday, 24 November
3:54PM ALCOHOL No alcohol sold to underage in West Coast controlled purchase operation 148

Tuesday, 15 November
8:51AM BUILDING Monteith's redevelopment hits half-way mark 147

Friday, 11 November
5:41PM LEGAL Pike River CEO will fight being scape goated 209

Monday, 7 November
6:53PM GUNS Firearms stolen from West Coast house 85

Monday, 31 October
7:49PM POLITICS Solid Energy sale another disaster for West Coast 91

Wednesday, 12 October
1:10PM CRIME Police seek help to identify sexual assault suspect 156

Tuesday, 11 October
9:08AM ACCOMMODATION Five-Star Gold for Te Waonui Forest Retreat 372

Friday, 7 October
7:21PM DEATHS Westport crash victim named 398
9:04AM DEATHS Pedestrian killed in early morning crash near Westport 286

Saturday, 10 September
3:31PM DEATHS Westport - Suspected Drowning 457

Friday, 9 September
2:17PM DEATHS Westport woman dies after fall from bicycle 194

Friday, 5 August
11:21AM NEWS Commission sets dates for hearings to examine Phase Three: What happened at Pike River? 62

Wednesday, 20 July
1:20PM ELECTRICITY Pulse Utilities Satisfies Two Key Conditions of Agreement with Buller Electricity Limited 113

Thursday, 7 July
8:06AM NEWS Statement from Royal Commission on the Pike River Coal Mine Tragedy 62

Wednesday, 6 July
4:55PM EMPLOYMENT Employee seriously injured while in "safe area" 150

Tuesday, 5 July
7:08AM NEWS Experts, Government agencies & mine representatives to appear before Commission Hearings 60
7:05AM BUSINESS Pike River Coal Limited (In Receivership) Update 67

Saturday, 25 June
7:02PM AVIATION Plane crashed on take-off 109

Friday, 24 June
9:18AM BUSINESS Kent Updates Alexander River Gold Project Drill Program 117

Thursday, 23 June
6:24AM POLITICS Anti-Mining Activists Would Keep Kiwis Poor 94

Monday, 20 June
2:13PM TRANSPORT Key Westland Bridge about to get a lift 123

Wednesday, 15 June
1:35PM NEWS West Coast Shuttle are finalists in Leading light Awards 87

Thursday, 2 June
10:54AM NEWS Pike River Mine update 56

Thursday, 26 May
9:21PM BUSINESS Notification of increased gas levels at Pike River Mine 68

Tuesday, 17 May
12:47PM TRANSPORT A lift for key Westland Bridge 111

Saturday, 14 May
8:04AM DEATHS PM needs to show leadership on Pike River body retrieval 83

Friday, 13 May
4:16PM NEWS Police update families on Pike River mine images 58

Saturday, 7 May
8:31AM BUSINESS Solid Energy logical owner 71

Friday, 6 May
8:15AM BUSINESS New Premises for SGS New Zealand West Coast Minerals Services Laboratory 302

Friday, 29 April
11:32AM NEWS Man arrested for trespassing at Pike River coal mine 87

Thursday, 28 April
9:02AM DEATHS Image has located what may be body in mine 91

Tuesday, 19 April
3:36PM BUSINESS Operation Pike costs released 66

Monday, 18 April
6:23PM COMMUNITY Government to assist Pike River community 147

Saturday, 16 April
2:19PM CYCLING Cooper and Hextall win Around Brunner 597

Wednesday, 13 April
4:02PM CYCLING Underwear on top unique theme for Around Brunner 428

Friday, 8 April
1:23PM REAL ESTATE Popular and thriving tourist leisure business for sale in Punakaiki West Coast 257

Thursday, 7 April
4:32PM BUSINESS PM must ensure Pike River fronts up 74

Wednesday, 6 April
8:36AM TRAFFIC German woman killed in road accident 157

Tuesday, 5 April
10:39AM BUSINESS Department of labour seeks time extension 66

Tuesday, 29 March
8:25AM AGRICULTURE Career Takes Off for Coast Dairy Awards Winners 419

Tuesday, 15 March
5:31PM ALCOHOL Home of Monteith's gets multi-million dollar make-over bringing greater employment to the coast 133

Thursday, 10 March
10:58AM FOOD West Coast Perfection; handcrafted salamis & smallgoods 90

Wednesday, 9 March
6:08PM NEWS Pike River Coal to Implement Mine Stabilisation Plan 92

Tuesday, 8 March
4:18PM TRAFFIC Motorcyclist killed in Hari Hari crash 218

Tuesday, 1 March
6:27AM ART TPP receives signficant jadestone donation 254

Friday, 11 February
4:52PM FOOD Where the Wild Foods Are 145

Thursday, 3 February
10:11PM NEWS Borehole drilling progressing at Pike River mine 96

Tuesday, 1 February
8:11AM TRAVEL Hokitika's Mahinapua walk – a step away from heaven 177

Friday, 28 January
2:28PM NEWS Royal Commission seeks expressions of interest on the Pike River Coal Mine Tragedy 75

Tuesday, 18 January
9:08AM NEWS Receivers of Pike River Coal Limited (In Receivership) presents mine stabilisation plan to the Commissioner of Police 88
9:07AM NEWS Mine hand-over 63


NEWS   PHOTOS   PROFILES   INDEX