Counties Manuaku Win National Title Again

Sunday 14 July 2019, 6:09PM

By dave worsley


Counties Manukau continued their domination of the national Taekwon-Do Championships with an overall title for the fifth consecutive year, this time winning at their home venue at Pulman Arena in Papakua.

The local region won the overall region with a total of 56 gold medals, 55, silver and 65 silver to finish ahead of Auckland North on 45 gold and Central Region with 26. The bottom four regions were Wellington, South Island, Midlands and the small Australian contingent respectively.

The best club overall club was won by Paul M from Papakura in the Counties Manukau region on a countback after it was equal with on gold medals with Van Roon Martial Arts Club (Mt Eden) and Dragons Spirit Papatoetoe, but won on a higher total of silver medals.

Individually the big winners feature world champion medallist, Matt Bowden (Counties Manukau) as the best male black belt overall and Central’s Rose Biddlescombe the women’s winner. Bailey Jeffrey (Central) and Ashley Porter (Counties Manukau), also medal winners at the world champs in Germany earlier this year won the junior black belt titles.

A feature of any national champs is the men’s team sparring where a number of former and current senior reps take part in what becomes almost a personal battle of pride for some and even had a penalty or two for over-aggression. Auckland North eventually won the category ahead of Central with Counties Manukau third.  

Sean Hakeagatoa (Counties Manukau) won the senior Dan power breaking title ahead of Luke Cherrington (Central) with Alex Petrovich (Central) and Alex Hakeagatoa (Counties Manukau) third.


Best overall male yellow belt; Ethan Mora (Auckland North), Best overall female yellow belt; Maia Biddulp (Counties Manukau), Overall male green; Jamie Mora (Auckland North), Overall female green;  Isoun Teav (Auckland North), Overall male blue belt; Simon Jarvis (Central), Overall female blue belt; Kawhena van de Wiel (Wellington North), Overall male red belt; Leroi Roberts (Counties Manukau), Overall female red belt; Latishna Kumar (Counties Manukau), Overall junior male black belt; Bailey Jeffrey (Central). Overall female black belt; Ashley Porter (Counties Manukau), Overall male black belt; Matt Bowden (Counties Manukau), Overall female black belt; Rose Biddlescombe (Central).

Overall Club;  Paul M Papakura, Winning Region; Counties Manukau 1, Auckland North 2, Central 3.