Ministerial Advisory Council Appointments

Friday 2 May 2008, 4:51PM
By Hon Luamanuvao Winnie Laban

Pacific Island Affairs Minister Luamanuvao Winnie Laban today announced the reappointment of nine members and the appointment of four new members to the Ministerial Advisory Council (MAC).

MAC is responsible for advising the Minister of Pacific Island Affairs on issues relating to the social, cultural and economic welfare of Pacific peoples in New Zealand.

"Council membership is representative of the main Pacific ethnic groups in New Zealand, with members providing advice on key sectors that are critical in reducing inequalities for Pacific peoples.

"To ensure continuity I have reappointed nine of the current MAC members for a further three year term," Laban said.

They are Galumalemana Hunkin, Leaupepe Karalus, Selma Scott, Rev Nove Vailaau, Taima Fagaloa, Tangi Utikere, Palatasa Havea, Emeline Afeaki and John Puka who represent the Samoan, Cook Island, Tongan, and Tokelauan communities.

"I have also appointed three new members replacing current members who have stepped down, and appointed an additional Tuvaluan member to ensure the representation of smaller Pacific ethnic groups."

The new appointees are Sireli Kini, Sally Ikinofo, Saaga Malua and Mary Cole respectively representing the Fijian, Niuean and Tuvaluan and Solomon Island communities.

MAC has an important role to play in getting information to and from Pacific committees to raise awareness of current and future issues for Pacific peoples in New Zealand, Laban said.