Appointments to the Foundation for Research, Science and Technology Board

Tuesday 20 May 2008, 4:04PM
By Pete Hodgson

The Minister of Research, Science and Technology, Pete Hodgson, has announced two new appointments to the Board of the Foundation for Research, Science and Technology – the main government funding body for science and technology.

They are:
• Ms Denise Church, former Chief Executive of the Ministry for the Environment and current Chair of the Wellington Zoo Trust and the WWF (Worldwide Fund for Nature) New Zealand.
• Professor Roberta Farrell, Professor of Biological Sciences at the University of Waikato.

They replace Board members Dr Gary Hook and Professor Judith Kinnear.

”Professor Farrell and Ms Church are both outstanding leaders with strong track records in science, governance and community involvement,” Pete Hodgson said.

“Their skills, experience and knowledge will, when combined with those of the other Board members, help the Foundation make the best decisions on how to invest in New Zealand research, science and technology.

“I would also like to take this opportunity to thank Dr Hook and Professor Kinnear for their years of service on the Board. I wish you well in all your future endeavours.”

Mr Hodgson has also reappointed Board member Associate Professor Pare Keiha for a further three years. The other members of the FRST board are Dr Bryan Gould (Chair), Mr Jim McLean (Deputy Chair) Dr Bronwen Connor, Dr Diana Hill, Dr Tom Richardson and Mr Warren Larsen.