Waikato Enviroschools awards announced

Friday 14 November 2008, 1:01PM
By Waikato Regional Council


Twelve Waikato schools and a Hamilton kindergarten have achieved Enviroschools awards this year.

The successful schools were from Hamilton, Cambridge, Ohaupo, Reporoa, Taupo and Whitianga.

The Enviroschools programme encourages students to plan, design and create sustainable school communities and involves more than 600 schools nationwide.

Students are encouraged to identify issues at their school and show leadership in developing solutions. They work on projects such as creating recycling systems, improving energy efficiency and planting trees.

Every year schools have a chance to apply for bronze, silver and green-gold awards under the programme.

Environment Waikato Environment Committee chair Jane Hennebry said this year’s applications showed Waikato schools were getting more involved in their communities and exploring local issues in more depth.

“We also had more high schools applying, which was great to see.”

Silver awards went to St Joseph’s Catholic School and Rhode Street Primary School (Hamilton) and Goodwood School and Maungatautari School (Cambridge).

Bronze awards went to Marian School, St Andrews Kindergarten and Fairfield College (Hamilton), Hautapu School (Cambridge), Broadlands School (Reporoa), Ohaupo School (Ohaupo), Tauhara College and Taupo-nui-a-Tia College (Taupo) and Mercury Bay Area School (Whitianga).

The awards will be presented by mayors and councillors from city and district councils at ceremonies later this month.

The Enviroschools Foundation is largely funded by the Ministry of Education and is based in Hamilton, with the Enviroschools programme supported by regional, district and city councils.

Waikato teachers interested in joining the programme are encouraged to contact Environment Waikato Enviroschools coordinator Dean King on 0800 800 401.