Waitakere begin busy few weeks of NZFC matches

Wednesday 14 January 2009, 8:56AM

By Waitakere United



Waitakere United begin a tough 6 match schedule over the next 22 days with their home encounter against Hawkes Bay United on Sunday at Douglas Field and coach Chris Milicich is again emphasizing the need for standards to be maintained.


Despite having two games in hand, Waitakere United is on top of the NZFC standings after their 2-0 win over Wellington last week but Milicich is not standing for any talk of play offs in the dressing room.


“One game at a time is the mantra and one game at a time we will work our way towards our objectives. The moment the players lose sight of that is the moment we get tripped up. Our focus is on Hawkes Bay this Sunday and nothing else.”


Milicich has made a couple of changes to his side but again they are subject to late fitness tests. Experienced defender Neil Sykes withdrew late last week with a calf strain but is again included.


Milicich is looking for a lift again from last week’s performance.


“I allowed some leeway last week given the two week break but this week no excuses. We have a game and a few weeks of training under our belts and should hit the ground running on Sunday.


“It took us some time to hit our straps and get the goals we were looking for last week and again, we may have to show the same patience against a side determined to qualify for the play offs.


“The youngsters showed they are up to this last week with Tim Myers impressing at the back and Kayne Vincent and Jacob Mathews doing what was asked of them when they came on.”


Waitakere United v Hawkes Bay United

Sunday 18th January

Douglas Field, Henderson

NZFC Round Nine


Last five results: W W D W W

Last round result: Waitakere United 2 Team Wellington 0

Position on table: 1st


Squad (from) (list in numerical order):

1 Richard Gillespie (GK)
3 Aaron Scott
4 Tim Myers
8 Paul Seaman
9 Benjamin Totori
11 Neil Sykes
12 Roy Krishna
13 Daniel Koprivcic
14 Jeff Campbell
15 Christopher Bale
16 Neil Emblen
17 Jake Butler
20 Jason Rowley
21 Kayne Vincent

Ash Solly

Jacob Mathews

22 Danny Robinson (GK)