Waitakere United in Play Off Mode

Friday 13 March 2009, 7:59AM

By Waitakere United



Waitakere United may have won the minor premiership in the NZFC for the third time but they know this is worth nothing come play off time in the NZFC, beginning this Saturday with leg one of their semi final against Team Wellington.


Head Coach Chris Milicich has named a strong and experienced line up for the trip to Wellington and is wary of a Stu Jacobs coached side that has had form on their side in the final rounds of the season.


”We are really looking forward to the first of the semi-finals in Wellington this weekend. We have had some great games against Team Wellington over the last couple of season and we are expecting nothing less than a tough match.


“Team Wellington have managed to work themselves into form over the last couple of matches and should be a difficult team to beat but in saying that we have only been beaten once this NZFC season and we have certainly been going well even when there was nothing to play for on the matches.”


Milicich has been able to select from the majority of his squad, with experience in key roles and plenty of firepower on attack with Roy Krishna, Allan Pearce, Danko Koprivcic, Kayne Vincent and Benjamin Totori all in good form.


“It’s nice to finally have a fully-fit squad to pick from with the only absentee being Jon Perry with a long-term injury and Jason Rowley on his honeymoon.”


Milicich will leave a further two players out of the 18 after training tonight before the team travels to Wellington on Saturday morning.


Team Wellington v Waitakere United
Newtown Park, Wellington
Saturday 14 March, 2009
Kickoff: 5pm
Referee: Peter O’Leary (Hamilton)

Head to head: Played 15, Wellington 2 wins, Waitakere 9 wins, 4 draws.
Playoff meetings:
2007-08 Grand Final: Waitakere United 2 Team Wellington 0

This Season:
Round 1 (Nov 9) Team Wellington 2 Waitakere United 4
Round 8 (Jan 11) Waitakere United 2 Team Wellington 0

Squad (from) (list in numerical order): two to be removed after Thursday training

1 Richard Gillespie (GK)
3 Aaron Scott
4 Tim Myers

Hone Fowler

5 Danny Hay

8 Paul Seaman

9 Benjamin Totori

10 Allan Pearce
11 Neil Sykes
12 Roy Krishna

13 Danko Koprivcic
14 Jeff Campbell
15 Christopher Bale
16 Neil Emblen
17 Jake Butler
21 Kayne Vincent

24 John Chisholm

22 Danny Robinson (GK)