APRA Silver Scroll Awards 2009: Announcing the finalists

Monday 10 August 2009, 8:26AM

Now in its 44th year the APRA Silver Scroll is New Zealand’s most prestigious and influential music award. From a list released last month of the Top 20 songs from the past year, 7,000+ APRA Members have elected their songwriting champions of 2009.

APRA is proud to announce the finalists for the 2009 APRA Silver Scroll Award – recognising outstanding creative excellence in songwriting and composition.

Shayne Carter (Dimmer) Degrees Of Existence

Jess Chambers Island

James Milne & Luke Buda (Lawrence Arabia) Apple Pie Bed

Phil Madsen Dancing On The Moon

Jeremy Redmore, Simon Oscroft, Matthew Warman, Aidan Bartlett & Nick Campbell (Midnight Youth) The Letter

“These are a rich and diverse bunch of songs,” says Anthony Healey, Director if NZ Operations for APRA. “It’s hard to explain what links these songs but each of them possess an undeniable quality that grabs you and hooks you in. That’s what makes a great song. These are extraordinary.”

Not only are the finalists chosen by their peers, their works are also performed by their peers. As an event the APRA Silver Scroll Awards are a highly anticipated evening on the music industry calendar with unique collaborations and performances.

For the first time in the awards history – the APRA Silver Scroll Awards are to be held in Christchurch. This invite only event will be held on Thursday 17 September at the Christchurch Town Hall.

In recognition of the contribution music makes to New Zealands culture and heritage, there will be another induction to the New Zealand Music Hall Of Fame at the Awards. Set up in 2007 with RIANZ, the 2009 inductee(s) will join the ranks of The Topp Twins, Johnny Devlin, Jordan Luck & Straitjacket Fits.

The APRA Silver Scroll Awards are a celebration of our songwriting best – across all genres and measures of success. As such, a nod will be made to the Most Performed Works, both here and overseas, and the presentation of the following awards:

The APRA Maioha Award – celebrating contemporary Maori music. The finalists are:

  • Jamie Greenslade, Jeremy Froger & Rupert Brown with Whakakotahi Rangatahi performed by maitreya
  • Maisey Rika, John Rika & Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper with Repeat Offender performed by Maisey Rika Rewi Spraggon & Riki Bennett with Tapapakanga performed by Te Aratoi

SOUNZ Contemporary Award – celebrating contemporary classical composition. The finalists are:

  • Jack Body with My Name is Mok Bhon
  • Ross Harris with Symphony lll
  • Michael Norris with Volti

APRA would not be able to bring the Awards to Christchurch without the support of the following partners: the Christchurch City Council, Vbase, CHART: Christchurch Music Industry Trust, PacificBlue & HotelSO.

To learn more about the Silver Scroll Awards, including past winners and performances, please visit

2009 APRA Silver Scroll Awards - Christchurch Town Hall - Thursday 17 September

The Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA) collects and distributes licence fees for the public performance and communication (including broadcast) of its members’ musical works. Public performances of music include music used in pubs, clubs, fitness centres, shops, cinemas, festivals, whether performed live, on CDs or played on the radio or television. Communication of music covers music used for music on hold, music accessed over the internet or used by television or radio broadcasters.