APRA Silver Scroll Awards 2009: The Winners

Friday 18 September 2009, 7:31AM


Tonight, the music industry’s most prestigious songwriting prize was presented for the very first time in the Garden City of Christchurch.

The APRA Silver Scroll was presented for the 44th time to:

  • James Milne & Luke Buda for the Lawrence Arabia song ‘Apple Pie Bed’

This peer voted Award is decided by APRA Members themselves, New Zealand’s songwriters and composers.

"This is beautiful pop music with an edge, songwriting genius, ‘Apple Pie Bed’ is a classic" says APRA NZ Director, Anthony Healey; "another chapter of Christchurch's amazing musical history has been written”.

Tonight APRA in association with RIANZ proudly made another induction to the New Zealand Music Hall Of Fame – Hirini Melbourne & Richard Nunns.

"Hirini Melbourne and Richard Nunns have left us with a treasure chest of songs and a musical tradition that could have been lost. Their contribution to New Zealand is enormous and this is a fitting honour from the entire music community" says APRA Writer Director Arthur Baysting.

The Australasian Performing Right Association is proud to confirm the following winners, announced this evening (17 Sept) at the invitation only event held at the Christchurch Town Hall.

“The Awards are a celebration of the richness and diversity of music made in New Zealand. We congratulate Ross Harris, Rewi Spraggon and Riki Bennett for their remarkable work.”


APRA Silver Scroll Award
James Milne & Luke Buda (Lawrence Arabia) ‘Apple Pie Bed’
Published by Mushroom Music NZ

New Zealand Music Hall Of Fame Induction
Hirini Melbourne & Richard Nunns

SOUNZ Contemporary Award: recognising creative excellence by a classical composer.
Ross Harris with ‘Symphony III’

APRA Maioha Award: celebrating contemporary Maori music.
Rewi Spraggon & Riki Bennett (Te Aratoi) with ‘Tapapakanga’

Most Performed Work in New Zealand
Jeremy Redmore, Simon Oscroft, Matthew Warman, Aidan Bartlett & Nick Campbell (Midnight Youth) with ‘The Letter’

Most Performed Work Overseas
Neil Finn with ‘Don’t Dream It’s Over’
Published by Roundhead Music

APRA would not be able to bring the Awards to Christchurch without the support of the following partners: the Christchurch City Council, Vbase, CHART: Christchurch Music Industry Trust, PacificBlue & HotelSO.

To learn more about the Silver Scroll Awards, including past winners and performances, please visit

2009 APRA Silver Scroll Awards - Christchurch Town Hall - Thursday 17 September