Graham Henry and Alan Barber named Westie heroes

Wednesday 9 December 2009, 4:31PM
By Waitakere City Council


All Black coach Graham Henry is used to letting his players take the accolades.

But he will be one of the stars when his name and hand print is unveiled on the Waitakere Walkway of Fame on December 12.

It’s a privilege to honour one of the heroes of the West, says Waitakere Mayor Bob Harvey.

“Being All Black coach has got to be one of the toughest jobs in New Zealand. Graham has been composed through tough times and persistent in the face of opposition.

“We’ve also got to remember his work at Kelston. He spent 14 years mentoring our young people.

“He’s got a big heart for people and he doesn’t give up. That’s what being a Westie is all about.”

Mr Henry spent 14 years at Kelston Boys High School.

He was Deputy Headmaster and rugby coach from 1982 to 1986 and Headmaster from 1987 to 1996.

A spectacularly successful conversion to full time rugby coaching saw him named All Black coach in 2003.

Neurosurgeon and lecturer Alan Barber will join him on the Walkway of Fame.

His job is studying and treating strokes, which kill or debilitate more than 4000 Kiwis every year.

He has written more than 50 papers on stroke diagnosis, preventation, treatment and rehabilitation.

Both are great candidates for the Walkway of Fame, says Mayor Harvey.

“Alan describes himself as a ‘brain man’. His days are devoted to beating a condition that kills thousands of Kiwis every year. He is simply a life saver.

“Both he and Graham deserve to be recognised for their place in Waitakere’s history.”

The Walkway of Fame is Waitakere City’s answer to the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Other inductees are:

Fashion designer Karen Walker, musician Neil Finn, racing driver Paul Radisich, All Black legend Michael Jones, politician Jonathan Hunt, Chief Justice Sian Elias, businessman Tom Clark, community worker, sportswoman and teacher June Mariu, sportswoman Beatrice Faumuina, author Maurice Shadbolt, athletics great Roy Williams, author Maurice Shadbolt, community leader Graeme Douglas, long serving councillor Assid Corban and Maori Party leader Pita Sharples.