Team for World Cross Country Champs named

Thursday 4 February 2010, 7:02PM

By Athletics New Zealand


New Zealand will be sending a team of nine to contest the World Cross Country Championships in Bydgoszcz Poland on 28 March 2010.

The senior men’s team for the 12km event is: Andrew Davidson (Canterbury), Edwin Henshaw (based in the States), Kim Hogarth (Nelson) and Shaun Krawitz (based in Australia). Krawitz was 88th at the championships in Brussels in 2004.

Rachael Kingsford of Otago is the sole representative in the senior women’s 8km, Fiona Crombie (Canterbury) and Kimberley Smith (based in the States) were selected but are unavailable.

Aaron Pulford of Hamilton subject to his availability will contest the junior men’s 8km while Olivia Burne (Palmerston North), Nicki McFadzien (Canterbury) and Danielle Trevis (Auckland) have been selected for the junior women’s 6km. At the world cross country championships last year in Jordan McFadzien finished 36th in the junior women.

The manager of the team is Martin MacDonald of Wellington.