Sign up now!

Minister announces SOE board appointments

Tuesday 30 March 2010, 12:53PM
By Simon Power

Nine new appointments and seven reappointments across 11 State Owned Enterprises have been announced today by State Owned Enterprises Minister Simon Power.

At KiwiRail, Wellington company director John Spencer has been appointed as chair from 1 July 2010 to replace Rt Hon Jim Bolger.

"Mr Bolger has been a strong leader for KiwiRail since its inception in October 2008, and I thank him for his dedicated service over that time," Mr Power said.

John Spencer has a wealth of commercial governance experience, including successfully leading the merger of Asure and AgriQuality in 2007.  He has also made a valuable contribution to the SOE portfolio as deputy chair of Solid Energy since May 2006. 

"I'm confident Mr Spencer will guide KiwiRail successfully through the challenges ahead."

Mr Spencer will retire from his role at Solid Energy on 30 April to allow him to focus on KiwiRail. 

The other new directors are Dianne Kidd on AsureQuality, John Dell and Rukumoana Schaafhausen on Genesis, Traci Houpapa on Landcorp, Mary Devine on Meridian, Prue Flacks on Mighty River Power, David Willis on NZ Post, and David Patterson on Solid Energy.

"The new directors have a broad range of commercial experience across all sectors of the community, and the economy, and will bring a fresh perspective to the portfolio.

"I'm particularly pleased this round of appointments includes a number of first-time directors, female directors, and directors with strong links to iwi.

"This highlights the National-led Government's ability to attract some of New Zealand's most experienced governance professionals to serve on SOE boards, as well as developing new talent." 

Mr Power thanked the retiring board members for their contributions, and wished them well in their future endeavours.

Full details of the changes, which will take effect between 1 May and 1 July 2010, are detailed below.

SOE Appointments and Reappointments





Airways Corporation of New Zealand Ltd

Graeme Leonard Reeves



AsureQuality Ltd

Dianne Janet Kidd


New appointment

Genesis Power Ltd

Joanna Mary Gordon Perry

Deputy Chair


Rukumoana Tira Marie Schaafhausen


New appointment

John Dell


New appointment

Landcorp Farming Ltd

Traci Houpapa


New appointment

Meridian Energy Ltd

Mary Monica Devine


New appointment

Mighty River Power Ltd

Samford (Sandy) Lee Maier Jr



Prudence Mary (Prue) Flacks


New appointment

New Zealand Post Ltd

David Willis *


New appointment

New Zealand Railways Corporation

John Lewis Spencer


New appointment

Solid Energy New Zealand Ltd

John Antony Fletcher



John McDonald



David Patterson


New appointment

Timberlands West Coast Ltd

William Henry (Martin) Sawyers

Acting Chair


Transpower New Zealand Ltd

Ian Alexander Nicholson Fraser



(*) this appointment is subject to the completion of due diligence procedures

Composition of SOE Boards by 1 July 2010


* - subject to due diligence    Bold - new appointments    Italics - reappointments

Airways Corporation of New Zealand Ltd

Con Anastasiou (Chair)

Susan Paterson (Deputy Chair)

Tony Briscoe

David Park

Terry Murdoch

Susan Huria

Susan Putt

Graeme Reeves

AsureQuality Ltd

John Spencer (Chair)

John Ashby (Deputy Chair)

Sarah Herrod

Joanna Perry

Sam Robinson

Dean Nikora

Jane Lancaster

Garry Wilson

Dianne Kidd

Christchurch International Airport Ltd

David Mackenzie (Chair) - non-Crown appointment

Catherine Drayton - non-Crown appointment

Hanlin Johnstone

Philip Carter - non-Crown Appointment

George Gould

Ann Harper - Non-Crown appointment

Dunedin International Airport Ltd

Richard Walls (Chair) - non-Crown appointment

Kathy Grant

Geoff Thomas

Stuart McLauchlan - non-Crown appointment

Electricity Corporation of New Zealand Ltd

Victor Wu (Chair)

Grant Graham

Daphne Rawsthorne

Genesis Power Ltd

Rt Hon Dame Jenny Shipley (Chair)

Joanna Perry (Deputy Chair)

Dr Nicki Crauford

Graeme Milne

Rukumoana Schaafhausen

Barbara Elliston

John Dell

Denis Wood

Hawke's Bay Airport Ltd

John Palairet (Chair) - non-Crown appointment

Tony Porter - non-Crown appointment

Jim Scotland

Stuart Webster

Invercargill Airport Ltd

Merv Cook (Chair) - non-Crown appointment

Alastair McKenzie - non-Crown appointment

Martin Walton

Tommy Foggo

Kordia Group Ltd

David Clarke (Chair)

Janine Smith (Deputy Chair)

Phillip Meyer

Taari Nicholas

Rhoda Holmes

Lorraine Witten

Ken Benson

Landcorp Farming Ltd

Hon Jim Sutton (Chair)

Warren Larsen (Deputy Chair)

Falcon Clouston

Bill Baylis

Marise James

Basil Morrison

Traci Houpapa

Jane Mitchell

Meridian Energy Ltd

Wayne Boyd (Chair)

Ray Watson (Deputy Chair)

Catherine Drayton

Chris Moller

Steve Reindler

Brett Shepherd

Mary Devine

Anne Urlwin

Meteorological Service of New Zealand Ltd

Sarah Astor (Chair)

Polly Schaverien (Deputy Chair)

David Houldsworth

Joanne Keestra

James Koh

Gregory Whitau

Mighty River Power Ltd

Joan Withers (Chair)

Trevor Janes (Deputy Chair)

Diana Crossan

Keith Smith

Sandy Maier

Mike Allen

Prue Flacks

Jon Hartley

Tania Simpson

New Zealand Post Ltd

Rt Hon Jim Bolger (Chair)

Hon Dr Michael Cullen (Deputy Chair)

Shale Chambers

Justine Smyth

Pip Dunphy

Murray Gribben

David Willis *

Temuera Hall

New Zealand Railways Corporation

John Spencer (Chair)

Paula Rebstock (Deputy Chair)

Vacancy - appointee TBC

Mark Franklin

Mark Tume

Bob Field

Bryan Jackson

Quotable Value Ltd

Phil Lough (Chair)

Derek Walker (Deputy Chair)

Bryan Hemi

Christine Southey

George Reedy

Sir Barry Curtis

Gary Traveller

Solid Energy New Zealand Ltd

John Palmer (Chair)

John Fletcher

Alan Broome

Helen Cull QC

John McDonald

Simon Marsters

David Patterson

Adrienne Young-Cooper

Timberlands West Coast Ltd

Martin Sawyers (Acting Chair)

Sue Merriman

Stuart McKinlay

Transpower New Zealand Ltd

Wayne Brown (Chair)

Ian Donald (Deputy Chair)

Ian Fraser

John Irving

Dr Don Brash

Mike Pohio

Elena Trout

Abby Foote