Not a member? Sign up now!
Email   Password  


Archbold gets biggest New Zealand result with Around Brunner win CREDIT: Michael Buckley

Archbold gets biggest New Zealand result with Around Brunner win
Saturday 17 April 2010, 3:19PM
By enthuse


Shane Archbold had his biggest win on New Zealand soil winning round five of the elite RaboPlus National Points series race at Around Brunner today.

The Timaru rider proved to be the fastest over 400 metres winning a tight bunch sprint of 50 riders to smash the course record by 15 minutes to win in three hours one minute and 17 seconds.

“I fought for a good position over the last few kilometres, making sure I was in the front 10 riders,” he said.

“I hit the front with 400 metres to go to avoid getting swamped by the teams and just went for it and got the result, which would be my biggest win in New Zealand.”

Archbold is part of the New Zealand endurance track programme, and with a view to selection on the track for The Commonwealth Games, and then a professional road contract, has been based in Europe racing with the track team racing on the track and road. Around Brunner was his first road race in New Zealand for 18 months.

“I had no team support so tried to look after myself, so to win is a great result.”

In a very fast race several breakaways were reeled back in, including one that featured the leader of the National Points Series, Gordon McCauley from the Subway – Avanti Pro Cycling Team, Tom Findlay (Mico-All About Plumbing) and Hamish Presbury (H and J Smith Southland).

Without a rider in the break the Benchmark Homes and Bici Vida teams worked hard to pull it back in, and once done the majority of the field stayed together for the sprint finish.

Matt Gorter (Subway-Avanti) got up for second to collect 70 National Points Series points which ties him as joint leader in the series with team mate McCauley, who received 15 points for his seventh placed finish.
“It was a really fast race,” Gorter said. “And the finish was tight and a bit messy and wasn’t very organised meaning it was everyone for themselves so I was happy to get second.”

Seventeen year old Southland Peter Bulling was third followed by National Under 23 Champion and National Points Series Under 23 leader Tom Findlay.

Karen Fulton from Nelson (Fresh Choice/Toxic Cycle team) edged out team mate Jeannie Kuhajek and Sia Svendsen (Team Thule) in the sprint finish win the woman’s race, finishing five seconds behind Archbold.

“I knew I had to be near the front and after the last hill sprinted and gave it everything.”

Fulton’s win see moves her up to first equal with Female National Points Series with leader Catherine Cheatley did not race at Around Brunner.

Geoff Searle from Christchurch won the recreational event in three hours and 24 minutes from Symon Mitchell and Tom Littlejohn.

First female home was former national representative Tamara Boyd, also from Christchurch.

Provisional results - Individuals by Category

Elite men
1 Shane Archbold Timaru 03:01:17
2 Mathew Gorter Christchurch 03:01:17
3 Pieter Bulling Invercargill 03:01:18
4 Tom Findlay Palmerston North 03:01:18
5 Joe Chapman Dunedin 03:01:18
6 Marc Prutton Christchurch 03:01:18
7 Gordon McCauley Auckland 03:01:18
8 Josh Atkins Christchurch 03:01:18
9 Alex Ray Auckland 03:01:18
10 Ian Smallman christchurch 03:01:18

Elite woman
1 Karen Fulton Nelson 03:01:22
2 Jeannie Kuhajek Nelson 03:01:23
3 Sia Svendsen Christchurch 03:01:30
4 Josie Giddens Christchurch 03.29.17
5 Laura Thompson Invercargill 03.29.22
6 Sarah Smallman Christchurch 03.29.26
7 Elizabeth Travis Christchurch 03.29.31
8 Aimee Burns Christchurch 03.29.32
9 Sequoia Cooper Dunedin 03.29.53

Recreational event - men
1 Geoff Searle Christchurch 03:24:07
2 Symon Mitchell Christchurch 03:24:08
3 Tom Littlejohn Christchurch 03:24:09
4 Mark Lewis Christchurch 03:24:10
5 Stephen Kendrick Christchurch 03:24:10
6 Nick Innocente-Jones North Canterbury 03:24:12
7 Jonathan Kalma Richmond 03:24:13
8 Jeremy Young Christchurch 03:24:14
9 Mike Smart Christchurch 03:24:14
10 Tony Wright Christchurch 03:24:15
11 Murray Sheridan Nelson 03:24:16
12 David Nixon Auckland 03:24:16
13 Darren Cole Auckland 03:24:17
14 Dwain Iafeta Christchurch 03:24:17
15 Nicholas Wood Christchurch 03:24:18
16 Peter Nixon Christchurch 03:24:19
17 Graeme Nuttridge Christchurch 03:24:20
18 John Phillips Christchurch 03:24:20
19 Steve Wright Tauranga 03:24:20
20 Steven Rogers Westport 03:24:21

Recreational event - female
1 Tamara Boyd Christchurch 03:24:22
2 Victoria Shelling Nelson 03:36:24
3 Cushla McKay Nelson 03:36:27
4 Anne Kerr Christchurch 03:36:35
5 Amanda Fitzgibbon Christchurch 03:36:48
6 Tui Summers Christchurch 03:36:59
7 Kate Purdie Christchurch 03:37:18
8 Claire Neylon Reefton 03:38:50
9 Sanna Wooliscroft Dunedin 03:38:59
10 Andrea Atkinson Waimate 03:41:49
11 Nienke Podmore Christchurch 03:41:50
12 Tessa Walker Culverden 03:45:55
13 Aileen Campbell Dunedin 03:46:49
14 Helen Mowbray Christchurch 03:50:31
15 Charlotte Breeze Hokitika 03:52:11

for more information please contact:
John McKenzie        Dale Coulter
enthuse ltd               Challenge Events
m 021 384 730        03 348 3282
t 03 384 7338