Nervous wait for jetsprint champions

Wednesday 28 April 2010, 8:08AM
By Jetpro


Following a nervous wait after technical clearance differences at Saturday’s final round of the 2010 Jetpro Jetsprint Championship, each of the Suzuki super boat, Scott Waterjet Group A and Jetpro Lites category winners have been confirmed.

The six round series concluded at Featherston’s Oldfields Aquatrack with each of the three top point scorers in a category requiring to pass technical inspections to have their placing confirmed. While the Suzuki super boat and Scott Waterjet Group A classes were cleared early in the evening, David Stone and Steve Greaves had a nervous wait for their Jetpro Lites title. Confirmed after a severe re-shuffle of the standings, Stone lost ground having used a boat for one event that was later deemed ineligible. Affected competitors conceded the cause for their championship exclusion was more from oversight.

Of the nine teams entered, only four retained championship points. Lower Hutt’s Bill Swan and navigator Paul Brigham move to second with series rookie Karl and Scott Draper from Wellington third overall. Turakina’s Steve Fouhy and navigator Denise Wallen finish fourth.

Palmerston North’s Richard Burt and Roger Maunder won their second successive Suzuki super boat title with Thames pairing of Bevin Muir/Kathy Barker re-securing the Scott Waterjet Group A crown. Second to Muir, having led for most of the season, boat share driver Baden Gray and Tanya Iremonger (Auckland) made it one-two.

Each of the place getters, including new season awards, will be presented their titles at an end-of-season officio function, Saturday 12 June in Rotorua

# # #

2010 Jetpro New Zealand Jetsprint Championships Standings – Drivers
Top-five after six of six rounds

Suzuki Superboat Class

Pos, No.,Name, Town, Points
1, 1NZ, Richard Burt/Roger Maunder, Palmerston North,167
2, 74, Pat Dillon/Steve Edmonds, Wanganui, 160
3, 3NZ, Leighton Minnell/Kellie Minnell, Wanganui, 159
4, 2NZ, Duncan Wilson/Jamie Lupton, Wanganui, 158
5, 88, Jamie Cooper/Glen Martin, Wanganui, 148

Scott Water Jet Group A Class

Pos, No.,Name, Town, Points
1, 1NZ, Bevin Muir/Kathy Barker, Thames, 168
2, 3NZ, Baden Gray/Tanya Iremonger, Auckland, 164
3, 30, Reg Smith/Julie Smith, Taupo, 163
4, 50a, Sam Newdick/Nic McIndoe, Hamilton, 147
5, 51, Ray Fergusson/Nicky Fergusson, Lower Hutt, 145

Jetpro Lites Class

Pos, No.,Name, Town, Points
1, 1NZ, Dave Stone/Steve Greaves, Bulls,166
2, 21, Bill Swan/Paul Brigham, Lower Hutt, 137
3, 28, Karl Draper/Scott Draper, Wellington, 117
4, 14, Steve Fouhy/Denise Wallen, Turakina, 66

For full results/points: www.jetpro.co.nz