New Zealand Music Hall of Fame

Wednesday 29 August 2007, 9:29AM

The Recording Industry Association of New Zealand (RIANZ) and the Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA) are proud to announce that they will now join forces to co-present the NEW ZEALAND MUSIC HALL OF FAME. This is a long overdue venture that will honour those who have made a significant contribution to the New Zealand music industry.

Anthony Healey, APRA’s Director of NZ Operations says: “We are thrilled to be sharing the helm of what is obviously a very significant endeavour on behalf of both APRA and RIANZ. Both organisations had made plans to stage their own Hall of Fame but of course it is in everyone’s best interests that we pay tribute and honour those who have influenced New Zealand music and provided New Zealand with its own unique soundtrack over the last 50 years – and do so together.”

Campbell Smith RIANZ CEO states, “These events happen all round the world and it’s about time we did it here. A combined event between the recording and publishing sides of the business could be a world first. Every young person that wants to make music needs heroes to aspire to. Both RIANZ and APRA agree that we can’t celebrate them enough. We look forward to working together in the exciting times ahead.”

Therefore, 2007 will see two members inaugurated, the first at the APRA Silver Scroll Awards on September 18 at the Auckland Town Hall, the second at the 2007 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards at the Aotea Centre on October 18.

From 2008, the organisations will announce further inductees at one stand alone grand occasion to be unveiled mid-2008.

This venture represents a first for the two industry bodies. The sharing of this mantle ensures this non-partisan honour will be first and foremost about celebrating and acknowledging the most significant contributors to our musical landscape.

A joint APRA/RIANZ executive committee will be established to determine and consider candidates each year.