Athletics New Zealand - Weekly Roundup

Tuesday 7 June 2011, 1:32PM
By Athletics New Zealand

<p>USA<br /> Prefontane Classic, Diamond League, Hayward Field Eugene Oregon – 4 June 2011<br /> Olympic 1500m silver medallist Nick Willis finished tenth in the Bowerman Mile at the Prefontaine Classic Diamond League meeting Sunday morning.<br /> <br /> Willis recorded a time of 3m 51.95s, in the race won by Haron Keitany of Kenya in 3m 49.09s.<br /> It was Willis’ first race of the season leading up to the world championships in Daegu Korea in August.<br /> “I was feeling pretty heavy legged with 300m to go,” said Willis.<br /> “I don’t like to finish near the end of the field, the minimum at least I want to be is in the front half of the field if not contending for a position in the front,” he added.<br /> “A 3m 51s mile I can’t totally complain about that but it would be nice to be up there contending again.”<br /> <br /> Willis has a best mile time of 3m 50.66s recorded in Eugene three years ago.<br /> <br /> Double Commonwealth Games silver medallist Nikki Hamblin was sixth in the 1500m in 4m 7.14s, just 1.21s outside her New Zealand record set in Heusden Belgium last July. Gelete Burka of Ethiopia won in 4m 4.63s.<br /> <br /> AUCKLAND<br /> Harry Kerr Centennial walking relay, Mt Smart Stadium – 5 June 2011<br /> Auckland A team of Mike Parker, David Sim, Paul Jackson, Rodney Thorne and Andrew Jackson won the 5 x 10,000m relay in 4h 56m 54s, from Auckland B 6h 4m 49s. Fastest time for the 10,000m walk was recorded by Mike Parker with 49m 51s, Matthew Holcroft was timed at 53m 16s. Fastest woman was Terri Grimmett with 63m 45s.<br /> <br /> CHRISTCHURCH<br /> SBS Christchurch Marathon and Half Marathon, Lincoln – 5 June 2011<br /> Liza Hunter-Galvan, in her first race back after serving a two-year ban for using performance enhancing drugs, won the women’s section of the Christchurch marathon by a wide margin in 2h 45m 31s on Sunday.<br /> Kate Seibold-Crosbie of Melbourne, the 2006 winner set out at a fast clip but by 5km had eased back and Hunter-Galvan swept through to lead for the rest of the race.<br /> Tracy Crossley was second in 2h 59m 46s.<br /> The 41 year old Hunter-Galvan from San Antonio Texas, who has a best of 2h 29m 35s, won the Christchurch marathon in 1999 in 2h 46m 34s.<br /> Ying Ren Mok from Singapore was the men’s winner in 2h 26m 34s. The triathlete turned marathon runner was aiming for the Singaporean record of 2h 24m 22s.<br /> Phil Costley going for his third victory in Christchurch, was still in contention with 3km remaining but felt the pressure over the closing stages and faded finishing second in 2h 29m 30s. <br /> Dale Warrander from the Gold Coast improved from his eighth placing in last year’s half marathon to win the half marathon a minute quicker in 1h 6m 14s. Dougal Thorburn was a distant second in 1h 9m with Brett Tingay third.<br /> Danielle Trevis of North Harbour won the women’s half in 1h 13m 37s, 29 seconds slower than her race record in the Auckland half marathon last October. Fiona Crombie was second in 1h 19m 34s with Gabrielle O’Rourke third.<br /> Callan Moody won the associated 10km in 30m 35s from Malcolm Hicks 30m 46s. Shauna Pali won the women’s 10km in 38m 14s from Julie Wilson 38m 38s. Courtney Ruske won the 10km walk in 54m 17s from Phillip Meikle 57m 17s.<br /> <br /> SOUTHLAND<br /> Gore Crosscountry, Sat May 28: Grant Baker (St Pauls) first across the line, winning the Clutterbuck trophy. Fastest time to Ricky Gutsell (Gore), 19m 52s for the 5.4km. Christina Taylor (St Pauls) was first woman on handicap and had the fastest time of 22m 15s. Jack Beaumont (Winton) impressed in the M16 4km, winning on handicap and running 14m 02s for fastest time.<br /> <br /> Southland Sports Awards.<br /> Five from athletics are finalists for these awards: Commonwealth Games silver medallist Jessica Hamill Senior Sportsperson of the Year, national triple jump champion Todd Swanson Junior Sportsperson, Mark Flaus Masters achievement award, Lance Smith Coach of the Year and Henry Tudor services to sport.<br /> <br /> USA<br /> Bolder Boulder 10km Citizens’ Race 30 May: Fiona Docherty 169th 2nd F35, 37m 21s.<br /> North West Regional NCAA Oregon 26-28 May: Alya Gill hammer 52,35m, Te Rina Keenan discus 45.30m.<br /> East Indiana 27-28 May: Annie Keown 5000m 16m 57.22s, Mathew Mildenhall 5000m 14m 11.16s.<br /> NAIA Indiana 27-29 May: Alice Taylor 5000m 17m 30.93s Hts, 17m 22.52s final.<br /> <br /> ROUND-UP OF RACES AROUND THE COUNTRY AND AUSTRALIA<br /> Baton Relays, Barge Park Whangarei 28 May: Hatea Harriers team of Johnny Creelman, Matt Andrews, Mark Turner and Ryan Smith won the 4 x 3km relay from Whangarei and Hatea B team. Ryan Smith was the fastest around the lap in 10m 27s. Whangarei won the women’s relay from Hatea. Imogen Hull ran the 3km in 12m 27s.<br /> O’Hagan’s Viaduct 5km Auckland 31 May: Scott Winton 15m 14s, Gene Beveridge 15m 30s. Alison Bogie 18m 5s, Kate Morrison 18m 35s.<br /> 25th Annual Mt Maunganui Joggers and Walkers Half Marathon 5 June: Ben Ruthe won in 1h 18m 48s from Ben Walters 1h 18m 53s and Chris Morrissey 1h 21m 5s. Mikayla Nielsen was the first woman in 1h 23m 12s from Lydia O’Donnell 1h 25m 12s.<br /> Big V State 10km road race, Flemington Melbourne 5 June: Wayne Guest was 38th in 33m 2s.<br /> 78th Annual Queen’s Birthday handicap 9km road race Napier 6 May: Craig Mathers won in 43m 19s, four seconds ahead of fellow Napier runners Glen Bullock with a further five seconds to Chris Wong. Fastest time honours went to Mathew Rogers of Hutt Valley Harriers in 31m 36s. Sheila Smidt of Napier won the women’s 4.5km from Napier’s Annie Kane and Andrea Williams of Hastings who ran the fastest time of 18m 31s. The M19 4.5km went to Napier’s Jordan Allan-Wright with Billy Kerr of Napier the fastest with 17m 18s. The W19 4.5km was won by Sophie Rose with Annie Creagh the fastest on 18m 57s, both runners were from Napier.</p>