Not a member? Sign up now!
Email   Password  


Alliance Party logo CREDIT: Alliance Party

Alliance Party 2011 full candidates and party list launched
Monday 7 November 2011, 8:02AM
By Alliance Party

The Alliance Party has announced its party list for the 2011 election, which comprises a mix of first time candidates, more experienced activists, and also a former Alliance MP.

There are fourteen list candidates, five of whom are also standing in electorates in both North and South Islands.

Kay Murray is number 1 on the party list and Alliance co-leader. She is the Dunedin South candidate.
Kay has been employed for the past 18 years as the programmes manager for Connections Centre, a Dunedin centre that provides activity based programmes for adults with intellectual and physical disabilities.

Andrew McKenzie at number 2 on the list is Alliance co-leader.
He is a Christchurch barrister, specialising in employment and criminal/transport law.

At number three on the Alliance list is Kevin Campbell. Kevin is also standing in the Wigram electorate.
Kevin is a former Alliance MP and served in the Labour/Alliance coalition government from 1999-2002.
Kevin is currently employed as the Managing Solicitor at Community Law Canterbury, where he has worked since 2002.

At number 4 on the list is Jim Flynn. Jim is Emeritus Professor of Political Studies at the University of Otago, author of numerous books, and finance and taxation spokesperson for the Alliance Party.

Number 5 on the list is Alliance Party president Paul Piesse, of Christchurch.

At number 6 on the list is Dunedin North candidate Victor Billot. Victor is the national communications officer of the Maritime Union of New Zealand.

Number 7 on the list is Napier candidate Mary O'Neill.

Number 8 list candidate is Kelly Buchanan, who is also standing in Wellington Central.

Full list

1 Kay Murray (Dunedin South)
2 Andrew McKenzie (List Only)
3 Kevin Campbell (Wigram)
4 Jim Flynn (List Only)
5 Paul Piesse (List Only)
6 Victor Billot (Dunedin North)
7 Mary O'Neill (Napier)
8 Kelly Buchanan (Wellington Central)
9 Robert van Ruyssevelt (List Only)
10 Jen Olsen (List Only)
11 Tom Dowie (List Only)
12 Thomas O'Neill (List Only)
13 Eunice Billot (List Only)
14 Norman MacRitchie (List Only) INDEX