Sport Manawatu finalist for three cycling awards

Monday 16 January 2012, 6:55PM
By Sport Manawatu

The Cycling Advocates’ Network has announced Sport Manawatu as a finalist in three categories at this year’s Cycle Friendly Awards.

Sport Manawatu is a finalist for the Best Cycling Promotion Project and Cycle Friendly Commitment by a Public Organisation. Felicity Masters, who worked at Sport Manawatu last year, is a finalist for Cycling Champion of the Year.

Sport Manawatu’s iMove programme that encourages children to walk and bike to school, was behind the nomination for Best Cycling Promotion Project.

“We see these nominations as another great way for Manawatu to be recognised as the best place to ride a bike,” says Sport Manawatu’s CEO Mike Daisley.

“The work we have been doing is about getting people of all ages and ability levels out on their bikes – everything from kids biking to school to working on bringing international cycling events to our region.”

The Awards are devised by the Cycling Advocates' Network (CAN), the national organisation promoting everyday cycling.

Award winners will be announced at the “2 Walk and Cycle National Active Transport Conference” at the Hastings Opera House on February 23.

For more information visit

Finalist list

Joint Walking and Cycling Award Finalists

i-Way Model Communities Projects – Hawkes Bay

Let’s Go – Walk Ride Bus – New Plymouth District Council

Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers Access Project – Dept. of Conservation, NZ Transport Agency

Bell Block Path – New Plymouth District Council

MWH Consulting award for Best Cycle Facility Project

Onehunga Harbour Crossing and Mt Roskill Cone – NZTA, Auckland City Council

Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers Access Project – Dept. of Conservation, NZTA

Marine Parade, Kapiti Coast – Kapiti Coast District Council

i-Way Green Cycle Lanes – Hastings District Council

Cycle Friendly Sump Gratings – Wellington City Council

NZTA award for Best Cycling Promotion Project

Free Bicycles and Repair – IceCycles, Christchurch

Bike Fix Ups – New Plymouth District Council

GLOW “light your bike night” – New Plymouth District Council

i-Way Share the Road Campaign – Hastings District Council

iMove – Sport Manawatu

Dunedin City Council award for Cycle Friendly Commitment by a Business – Jonathan Hunt

Auckland Harbour Bridge – Copeland/Airey

Auckland Transport award for Cycle Friendly Commitment by a Public Organisation

Tumeke Cycle Space Bike Tutorials – Tumeke Cycle Space, Auckland

Ride On Cycle Skills Trailer – Ride On, Nelson

Bike Support – Sport Manawatu

i-Way Model Communities project – Hastings District Council

Prison Bike Recycling Programme – Hastings District Council

i-Way award for Cycling Champion of the Year

Felicity Masters, Sport Manawatu

Eileen Evans, Cycle Action Waiheke

Steven Muir, Cycle Trailers, IceCycles, Fossil Free Event, Christchurch

Vicki Butterworth, Bike NZ Regional Co-ordinator Hawke’s Bay