Ashburton Zone Committee meeting

Friday 24 February 2012, 3:08PM
By Environment Canterbury


<p>The Ashburton Zone Committee will meet at the Ashburton Council Chambers on 28 February for its second meeting of 2012.<br /> <br /> At the meeting the zone committee will discuss the implementation of its Zone Implementation Programme (ZIP) with Ashburton District and Canterbury Regional council staff.<br /> <br /> The ZIP was finalised in late 2011 following numerous committee meetings and extensive stakeholder and community engagement. It recommends actions, responsibilities and time-frames for activities to help achieve the principles, targets and goals set out in the CWMS.<br /> <br /> Some of the recommendations will be given effect through a sub-regional plan for the Hakatere/Ashburton River &ndash; to be developed by Environment Canterbury &ndash; which will sit within the Canterbury Natural Resources Regional Plan.<br /> <br /> At February&rsquo;s meeting discussing the progress of the Ashburton River Plan will also be a key focus.<br /> <br /> Following this, the committee will receive a briefing on the Land and Water Regional Plan from a senior Environment Canterbury planner.<br /> <br /> The committee will end the meeting with an update on regional water infrastructure, a discussion on water supply and demand, and a presentation from the Ashburton Water Security working group.<br /> <br /> The Ashburton Zone Committee is a joint committee of the Ashburton District Council and Environment Canterbury. The Ashburton zone extends from the Rakaia River to the Rangitata River and includes Ashburton, Rakaia and Methven.<br /> <br /> The Members of the Ashburton Zone Committee are: Arapata Reuben (Tuahuriri), Terrianna Smith (Taumutu), Karl Russell (Arowhenua), Gordon Guthrie, Greg Roadley, Sheryl Stivens, Matthew Hall, Ben Curry and Donna Field, as well as Ashburton District Councillor Neil Brown and Environment Canterbury Commissioner David Caygill.<br /> <br /> <strong>Meeting information<br /> <br /> Ashburton Zone Committee meeting</strong><br /> 9:00 am Tuesday 28 February 2012<br /> Council Chambers, 5 Baring Square West, Ashburton<br /> <br /> <a href="http://ecan.govt.nz/publications/Council/cw-ashburton-agenda-280212.pdf">Read the agenda</a> (1.7 MB)</p>