Kathmandu Riverrun Trail Series logo Kathmandu Riverrun Trail Series logo CREDIT: EveNZ
Braden Currie pounding his way to victory on Wanaka's Waterfall Creek track. Braden Currie pounding his way to victory on Wanaka's Waterfall Creek track. CREDIT: EveNZ
Series winners Mike Coombe and Whitney Dagg. Series winners Mike Coombe and Whitney Dagg. CREDIT: EveNZ

Coombe and Dagg take Kathmandu Riverrun Trail Series' titles

Sunday 20 May 2012, 5:15PM
By EveNZ


Athletes from across the South Island were treated to perfect running conditions and stunning scenery for Race 4, the finale of the Kathmandu Riverrun Trail Series, yesterday.

Local athlete Braden Currie (Wanaka) set a blistering pace from the start and maintained the impressive lead throughout, crossing the finish line in 51:52 minutes nearly five minutes ahead of the second athlete. Second in the open division was Ben Logan (Wanaka) in 57:51 with Peter Brown (Dunedin) taking third place.

Whitney Dagg (Dunedin) produced another fine performance taking top honors for the fourth time in the series and setting a new female course record in 1:01:50. Local athlete Joanna Williams finished second in the women’s open field in 1:02:07 with Emma Seaward, also from Wanaka, third.

Peter Trainor (Waimate) was the fastest male, second overall, in the vet category in 56:38, Justine Quirke (Wanaka) claimed first place in a closely fought women’s vet division in 01:08:06.

The 14.1km course traveled from Glendhu Bay to Roy’s Bay in Wanaka on the Damper Bay/Waterfall Creek tracks with spectacular views across Lake Wanaka. Hugging the shoreline from start to finish, the track presents several challenging climbs and tricky turns, testing even the fittest of runners.

The John Pawson Trophies and major cash prizes were awarded to Wanaka’s Mike Coombe and Whitney Dagg for their overall winning performance across all four races of the Kathmandu Riverrun Trail Series.

The series, designed to showcase Lake Wanaka’s excellent network of tracks will continue next spring, with dates and courses to be announced in due course.

The Riverrun Trail Series is generously supported by Riverrun, Kathmandu, the Pawson Adventure Fund, Revive Beauty, Lakes Podiatry, Wanaka Health, ProActive and Radio Wanaka. The Series is created, promoted and staged by EveNZ Consultancy. For further information please visit

Results summary
Race 4 results

17-39 Female
1 Whitney Dagg 1:01.50
2 Joanna Williams 1:02.07
3 Emma Seaward 1:09.07

17-39 Male
1 Braden Currie 51.52
2 Ben Logan 57.51
3 Peter Brown 59.25

40+ Female
1 Justine Quirke 1:08.06
2 Fiona Reid 1:08.34
3 Ann Scanlan 1:08.46

40+ Male
1 Peter Trainor 56.38
2 Mike Coombe 58.14
3 David Gardner 59.13

Series winners

Female: Whitney Dagg
Male: Mike Coombe