Five for One

Monday 21 May 2012, 5:17PM
By Massey University

One of the most keenly anticipated concerts of the year will take place this Wednesday evening as five outstanding students perform in the NZSM Concerto Competition Final.

Chosen from a preliminary round held earlier this year, these five students are among the very best Classical Performance students at Te K?k?, New Zealand School of Music. The 2012 finalists (and their works) are:
    •    Lucy Gijsbers (cello) – Schumann Cello Concerto
    •    Sam Jones (saxophone) – Concerto de Camera by Ibert
    •    Jennifer Newth (harp)– Karohirohi by Gillian Whitehead
    •    Kate Oswin (violin) – Mendelssohn Violin Concerto
    •    John Roxburgh (viola) – Walton Viola Concerto

While many concerts will feature a soloist and concerto, to hear five in one concert is a rare aural pleasure,” says NZSM Director Professor Elizabeth Hudson. “That we have five different instruments and such a diverse range of composers and musical styles represented speaks volumes about the standard of teaching that students at NZSM have access to. For many musicians, events such as the NZSM Concerto Competition are one of the important steps towards a successful and fulfilling professional career.”

In this concert Emma Sayers, Douglas Mews or Matthew Oswin will accompany the soloists at the piano. The winner will have the opportunity to perform the work again with its full orchestral accompaniment in the NZSM Orchestra’s 11 October concert.

The concert takes place on Wednesday 23 May from 7:30pm in the Adam Concert Room on the NZSM Kelburn Campus  – through Gate 7 off Kelburn Parade. Admission is free and all are welcome.

The Classical Performance Programme at NZSM is one of five main streams of musical study at the prestigious educational institution.  Students can also choose course from Composition and Sonic Arts, Jazz, Music Studies and postgraduate study towards a degree in Music Therapy.

Te Kōkī, New Zealand School of Music is a joint venture of Massey University of New Zealand and Victoria University of Wellington.