Awards celebrate energy excellence

Thursday 16 August 2012, 5:19PM
By Phil Heatley

The 2012 Deloitte Energy Excellence Awards presented in Auckland last night were welcome recognition of excellence and achievement across the electricity, oil, gas and petroleum industries in New Zealand, Energy and Resources Minister Phil Heatley says.

“The New Zealand energy sector is an essential part of the country’s infrastructure and makes a significant contribution to the economy.

“A thriving and high-achieving energy sector is essential to a growing economy and to improve the standard of living of New Zealanders.

“My congratulations to all the winners: they are inspirational leaders in a sector setting high standards all over the world.

“Recognising excellence is important. Best practice is what the sector should be aspiring to, and when it is achieved we should celebrate that,” Mr Heatley said.

The winners of the 2012 Deloitte Energy Excellence Awards are:

Innovation in Electricity: Mighty River Power – Glo-Bug

Energy Project of the Year: Shell Todd Oil Services – Extending the life of an energy giant – Maui

Excellence in Health and Safety: Orion – Health and safety during emergency response

Environmental Excellence: Transpower Alliance – Environmental excellence down the wires

Young Energy Executive of the Year: Tony Sumner – Meridian Energy

Energy Executive of the Year: Doug Heffernan – Mighty River Power

Lines Company of the Year: Top Energy

Energy Retailer of the Year: Powershop

Overall Energy Company of the Year: Mighty River Power

Outstanding Contribution to the Sector: Sir John Todd