New members appointed to Plumbers, Gasfitters, and Drainlayers Board

Friday 7 September 2012, 6:18PM
By Maurice Williamson

Murray Burns and Nicholas Fleckney have been appointed to the Plumbers, Gasfitters, and Drainlayers Board, Building and Construction Minister Maurice Williamson announced today.

Mr Williamson said Mr Burns and Mr Fleckney replace Sue Ineson and James Fruean whose terms expired on 16 September this year. Both Graham Hardie and John Simmiss have been reappointed for a further term.

Mr Burns has 30 years’ experience in public sector roles including CEO, Central Regional Health Authority; General Manager, Works and Development Services Corporation (NZ) Ltd; General Manager Corporate Services and Company Secretary, Works and Development Services Corporation (NZ) Ltd; and is a former chair of the former Health Benefits Ltd and a past Director of Pharmac. He has held a number of directorships for both state and private companies.

Mr Fleckney is a certifying plumber, gasfitter and drainlayer. He has 20 years’ industry experience and lectures plumbing, gasfitting and drainlaying at Manukau Institute of Technology. He is currently the chairperson of the Backflow Group, Water New Zealand.

Mr Hardie is registered as a certifying gasfitter and drainlayer and as a licensed plumber. He is the owner of River City Gas, a gas appliance and servicing company, and New Zealand Gas Group Ltd, whose purpose is to increase practitioner awareness and education of gas appliance servicing and installations specifically around health and safety.

Mr Simmiss is registered as a certifying plumber and drainlayer. Mr Simmiss served as the Deputy Chair of the Board from July 2011 to February 2012. He currently represents New Zealand on the World Plumbing Council.

The Board is a statutory body established under the Plumbers, Gasfitters, and Drainlayers Act 2006 to promote the health and safety of all New Zealanders. The Board is responsible for administering the registration and licensing systems of plumbers, gasfitters and drainlayers and in doing so, is responsible for setting the minimum standards for registration and ensuring those persons carrying out regulated work are competent to do so.

The Minister thanked Ms Ineson and Mr Fruean for their contribution to the Board.