Beatson two from two

Monday 5 November 2012, 9:54AM

By Black Balloon




The elder statesman of New Zealand showjumping has notched back to back victories in the Bayer World Cup New Zealand series with a win today at the APL Showjumping Waikato Show.

Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) and his 18-year-old home-bred horse My Gollywog headed off 13 other rather classy combinations to take the round and more importantly edge further up the leaderboard with valuable points.

Five went clear in the first round of the prestigious class – Beatson, Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) on Dunstan Kiwi Iron Mark, Luke Dee (Ocean Beach) ON Ombudsman, Bernard Denton (Feilding) on Horsesports Suzuki and Ross Smith (Canterbury) on Quite Cassini II.

Joining them for the second round over the Gerrit Beker-designed course were McVean with Dunstan Zimorena G on four faults, Susie Hayward (Canterbury) on Andretti on eight, as well as e12 faulters Samantha McIntosh (Cambridge) on Estina and Carissa McGregor (Auckland) on Chatterton.

Beatson, a former Olympian who has also represented New Zealand at World Champs and a World Cup final, was first out and went clear and fast.

Denton tried to match it on his lovely little chestnut mare Suzuki, and while he was clear, he was also a second slower. McVean aboard eight-year-old Iron Mark,in their first ever world cup start, took the last fence to pick up four faults, as did Dee in his first ever world cup start.

Last night the action from the three day show shifted to indoors at Mystery Creek for the $15,000 APL Equidays Classic which was won by Ross Smith (Canterbury) and Quite Cassini II. There were 25 starters in the class, with 10 coming back for the second round.

Results -
Bayer World Cup New Zealand series (round two): Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) My Gollywog 1, Bernard Denton (Feilding) Horsesports Suzuki 2, Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Kiwi Iron Mark (owned by June Berrington and McVean) 3, Ross Smith (Canterbury) Quite Cassini II 4, Luke Dee (Ocean Beach) Ombudsman 5, Kate McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Zimorena G 6.

APL Equidays Classic: Ross Smith (Canterbury) Quite Cassini II 1, Daniel Meech (Taupo) Argento WHS 2, Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Zimorena G 3, Logan Massie (Dannevirke) Kiwi Ludo 4, Sam McIntosh (Cambridge) Claire 5, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) My Gollywog 6.

KiwiSpan Junior Rider: Melanie Weal (Te Awamutu) Cross Your Heart 1, Sarah Young (Tokoroa) Oakley Vision 2, Caroline Kennedy (Cambridge) Classic Arrow 3, Robert Wellwood (Hawke’s Bay) Insightful 4, Kate Allen (Morrinsville) Delta Pierre 5, Te Atatu Mihaka (Northland) Commodore 6.

Pony Grand Prix: Emily Fraser (Takapau) Tony the Pony 1, Melanie Weal (Te Awamutu) Hopeful Illusion 2, Tegan Newman (Northland) Watch Me Move 3, Caitlyn Horton (New Plymouth) Limmerick’s Black Samba 4, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Kabo Silver 5, Maddison Bult (Kumeu) Mr Black Magic 6.

Young Rider Series: Logan Massie (Dannevirke) Kiwi Ludo 1, Natasha Brooks (Cambridge) Hairy McClairy 2, Jake Lambert (Cambridge) Quality NZPH 3, Rosie Commons (Auckland) Glenara Chandon 4, Rebekah van Tiel (Karaka) Adeaze 5, Amanda Wilson (Hikurangi) Showtym Viking 6.

Horse Grand Prix (one star): Daniel Meech (Taupo) Argento WHS 1, Samantha McIntosh (Cambridge) Estina 2, Catherine Cameron (Cambridge) Campione GNZ 3, Lisa Coupe (Kumeu) Bates Amaretto MVNZ 4, Mathew Gilmour (Matangi) Cuba D Esquelmes Z 5, Bernard Denton (Feilding) Horsesports Suzuki 6.

Caledonia Amateur Rider Series: Courtney Fox (Auckland) Bush Magic 1, Sacha Harwood (Papamoa) Beautiful Day 2, Sophie Anderson (New Plymouth) Clifton Polarize 3, David Collett (Auckland) Sunshine Voltamae 4, Donna Aitkinson (Hawke’s Bay) Blue Label 5, David Collett (Auckland) SSS Old Prinz 6.

Mitavite Six Year Old Series: Jamie Campbell (Coatesville) Dolche MVNZ, Jake Lambert (Cambridge) Varekai SL, Samantha McIntosh (Cambridge) NZ Powerful, Sally Clark (Dannevirke) Victoria’s Secret, Samantha McIntosh (Cambridge) NZ Pow, Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Lucca and Luis Pedro De Chaby (Te Puke) HH Beetle =1.

Seven Year Old Series: Jake Lambert (Cambridge) Kiwi Express 1, Logan Massie (Dannevirke) Double J Cloud Nine 2, Savannah Larsen-Church (Turangi) Midway Smooth Dude 3, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Lenarc 4, Travis Morgan (Tauranga) Cervelt MVNZ 5, Jake Lambert (Cambridge) Eros K 6.