Laykold Cup Track Cycling Carnival: Cottams make it two in a row

Monday 2 December 2013, 2:40PM

By Nick Warren


Denay Cottam sprinted to a second straight Laykold Cup at Wellington Velodrome on Sunday December 1, ahead of local rider Louis Higgison and Mikey MaCallum in a bruising 10km race peppered by numerous attacks and chases. Maxyna Cottam also scored a repeat win in the Poneke Plate while Wellington's Nick Warren took out the 8km masters' Stayers Cup. Almost 50 riders, including 31 under 13s, 15s and 17s competed throughout the day at the carnival, one of the Lower North Islands premier track cycling events.

After a number of surges in the first two thirds of the race, the Laykold Cup field was whittled down to just four riders: Denay Cottam, Mikey MaCullum, Louis Higgison and Zac Blakely. Each tried their luck to escape but none of them managed to get more than a few lengths ahead before the others bridged across to them. With a lap remaining, Blakely made his move, but Cottam was right on to his wheel. The New Plymouth based rider quickly overhauled Blakely and held off a fast finishing Higgison for a fine win.

Maxyna Cottam's victory in the Poneke Plate was equally as hard fought, however Wellington's Ione Johnson was only a wheel behind in a very tight finish. Cottam, who had recently returned from the Oceania Championships where she won a gold medal, attacked a number of times but wasn't able to shake off her rivals. Johnson, a member of the under 19 BikeNZ development squad, marked Cottam closely and countered every move confidently. Going into the final lap, Cottam led out and held on for victory over Johnson and Holly Blakely in third.

In the masters' Stayers Cup, a blistering attack from defending champion Jeremy Cottam on the gun quickly ripped the field to bits, with four riders able to hold his pace: Nick Warren, Grant Perry, Steve Chapman and Regan Bang. Aware of Cottam's reputation as a sprinter, Perry, Chapman and Warren made attempt after attempt to get away. Finally, with six laps remaining, an attack by Warren stuck and he soloed to victory. Perry was second, with Chapman third.

In the junior events, Louis Hodgkinson's excellent season continued as he took out the under 13 mini league ahead of Finn Sherlock and Bryden Cottam. Amy Horn and Sophie Blaxhom were joint winners of the under 15 girls mini league while George Jackson won the under 15 boys with Sam Tillotson second and Alex James third. Ione Johnson and Holly Blakely were first and second in the under 17 girls category, and Jordan Lewis won the under 17 boys, which included a terrific win in the final scratch race.

Full results from the day are here.
Photos are here:
Racing continues at the Wellington Velodrome in Hataitai on December 8 with round five of the Burkes Cycles Speed League.