Finalist Gilmours Outstanding Chef, Che Barrington Finalist Gilmours Outstanding Chef, Che Barrington CREDIT: Pead PR - Food Team
Finalist Gilmours Outstanding Chef, Ben Bayly Finalist Gilmours Outstanding Chef, Ben Bayly CREDIT: Pead PR - Food Team
Finalist Gilmours Outstanding Chef, Des Harris Finalist Gilmours Outstanding Chef, Des Harris CREDIT: Pead PR - Food Team
Finalist Gilmours Outstanding Chef, Michael Meredith Finalist Gilmours Outstanding Chef, Michael Meredith CREDIT: Pead PR - Food Team


Tuesday 12 May 2015, 9:01AM
By Pead PR - Food Team

Record votes choose cream of Auckland hospitality crop

A record number of hospitality industry people have voted to choose the 2015 Lewisham Awards finalists announced today.

With more than 10,000 votes counted, the finalists represent the leading lights of the Auckland restaurant scene as selected by their peers.

Lewisham Foundation chairman Chris Upton says an increase in voting by more than a third is testament to the respect the industry has for the awards.

“The Lewisham Awards recognise every aspect that contributes to the excellence of Auckland’s vibrant and diverse food scene whether it be a new chef, barista, supplier or wine list.

“The fact that we have had such an amazing response in the voting reflects the strength of hospitality right now. There is certainly a very positive vibe in the industry and long may it continue.”

There are 17 categories to the awards with four finalists in each. The Lewisham Awards are announced at an industry function at Shed 10 on 7 June.

The 2015 finalists are:

L’afarre Outstanding Coffee Establishment / Barista

Eight thirty


Citizen Q

Greedy Guts

Aotearoa Fisheries Emerging Talent

Rohan Satam, Wine Chambers

Sophie Sara, Orleans

Hannah Lane, The Tasting Shed

Charlotte Redel, The Crab Shack

Menumate Outstanding New Auckland Venue

Woodpecker Hill




Moët Hennessy Outstanding Hospitality Personality

Nicola Richards, Monsoon Poon

Philip Spector, Bedford Soda & Liquor

Geeling Ching, The Hip Group

Nigel Kelly, The House of Whiskey

Restaurant Association Outstanding Sales Representative

Jackie Clark, Tickety Boo

Misha Taylor, Procure

James Barber, Mineral Wine

Angie Atkinson, Sgt. Peppers

Waterfront Auckland Outstanding Local

The Lumsden Freehouse

My Bar

Stafford Road

Mo’s Bar

Angostura Outstanding Bartender

Juleon Green, Bedford Soda & Liquor

Wade Tamati Jacob, The Crew Club

Asa Campbell, My Bar

Kate Rose, Mea Culpa

Pernod Ricard Outstanding Restaurateur

Michael Dearth, The Grove / Baduzzi

Chris Rupe, SPQR

Nicola Richards, Monsoon Poon

Alisdair Gribben, Marvel Grill

Negociants Outstanding Wine Service Professional

Ismo Koski, Apero

Megan Abbott-Walker, MASU by Nic Watt

Gary Olasz, Matterhorn

Edmundo Farrera, Ostro

General Digital Outstanding Maitre d'

Robere Pothier, La Fourchette

Ismo Koski, Apero

Ash Visvanathan, Woodpecker Hill

Hillie Kaufhold, Wine Chambers

Gilmours Outstanding Chef

Ben Bayley, The Grove

Che Barrington, Woodpecker Hill/Blue Breeze Inn

Michael Meredith, Meredith's

Des Harris, Clooney, Eight. Two

Crombie Lockwood Outstanding Waiter

Des Dillion, Soul Bar

Jeremy Ellis, Baduzzi

Adrian Doss, The Grill

Sheridan Irvine, Regatta

Spark Outstanding Supplier


The Produce Company

Red and White Cellar


EuroVintage Outstanding Wine List


Golden Dawn


The Grove

Fine Food NZ Outstanding Caterer



Great Catering Company

Little Wolf

Beam Suntory Outstanding Bar

Bedford Soda & Liquor

Mea Culpa

Mo's Bar


OneMusic Outstanding Establishment


Coco's Cantina

Monsoon Poon

Ponsonby Road Bistro

Tickets are on sale now for the awards evening and after party at Shed 10 on Sunday June 7. For more information or to purchase tickets go to

Please keep an eye on the Lewisham Awards website and Facebook page for event updates.  


Issued for The Lewisham Foundation by Pead PR

Contact: Jacqueline Jones, Event Administrator, 09 632 1407, 027 220 1835,

About The Lewisham Awards

The Lewisham Awards is an established event in the Auckland hospitality industry, where the best in the business are nominated and honoured by their peers. At the time of establishment in 2002, the main objective of the awards was to encourage excellence in the city’s hospitality community, with a view of raising the standards in all facets of the industry.

Organised by a dedicated committee of industry professionals, the Lewisham Foundation Awards are named in honour of colourful Auckland hospitality entrepreneur Richard Lewisham who helped establish the modern day eating and drinking scene in the 'City of Sails'.

Lewisham Awards activities include a call for nominations in 17 categories which are then shortlisted to four finalists per category. Final voting concludes two weeks prior to a formal Awards Ceremony which precede an after party generally touted as THE Party on Auckland’s hospitality calendar.