Rangi Ruru's Winning Cycling Team Rangi Ruru's Winning Cycling Team CREDIT: RedPR

Rangi Ruru Cycling Team Takes Back Litolff Cup

Friday 21 August 2015, 1:26PM
By RedPR

Rangi Ruru Girls’ School has re-established their position at the head of Canterbury Secondary School girls cycling, winning the Litolff Cup on the course in Tai Tapu on 19 August.

The team won the 15 km team time trial in convincing fashion, crossing the finish line 12 seconds ahead of rivals Villa Maria College.

The new team made up of Sarah McLeod (Year 12), Libby Vincent (Year 13), Ava Morrow (Year 10) and Millie Mannering (Year 13) have been through a year of rebuilding after losing the title to Christchurch Girl’s High School in 2014.

Head Coach, Marc Prutton says the girl’s dominance in this race is a credit to their determination and the hours put into training and preparation.

“Considering the inexperience of several members of the team coming into this season, I am thrilled at the progress the girls have made in this relatively short time. This result is a wonderful bonus”, said Mr Prutton.

Rangi Ruru were back-to-back champions in 2012 and 2013.

The team now looks to preparing for the National Secondary School’s Road Cycling championships which will be held in the Manawatu from 26-28 September.