Plenty of Talent In New Zealand Junior Squash Teams To India

Friday 1 June 2018, 7:21PM
By dave worsley

A large contingent of New Zealand’s rising squash players have been confirmed for the men’s and women’s world junior individual champs followed by the biennial men’s world junior team championships next month in Chennai, India.

Players coming from a wide range of experience and with an eye on the future have been selected.

Top female junior, Kaitlyn Watts (Palmerston North) recently reaching the final of the women’s PSA Classic in Auckland and has being named in to represent her country, along with top male Matthew Lucentre at the world youth Olympics in Argentina later this year in addition to the world juniors next month.

Waikato’s Anika Jackson has also been selected for India along with Courtney Trail (Palmerston North) while Winnona-Jo Joyce, 17 from Hastings has been named in a development spot along with Annaliese Faint (Central Districts) and Georgia Robcke (Waikato).

The boys selections include the Belmont Park duo from Auckland’s, North Shore, Lucente and Gabe Yam who were part of the Westlake Boys national secondary schools winning team. Also confirmed are Temwa Chileshe (Hamilton) and Anthony Lepper from Auckland with development players Elijah Thomas (also the reserve for the boys team) and Leo Fatiaofa (both Auckland) and Glenn Templeton the non-travelling reserve from Bay of Plenty.

There is strong coaching depth with the boys being led by Commonwealth Games head coach Glen Wilson along with Manu Yam from Auckland. The experienced duo of Robbie Wyatt (Bay of Plenty) and Phil Buscke (Waikato) are the girls coaches.

“The players have been through a particularly rigorous selection process this year. The broadening of the team to include development players gives some the opportunity to prepare for future events that was not previously available. Following the inspirational Commonwealth Games results the players selected will be wanting to replicate this success,” said Shelley Kitchen,  high performance manager Squash NZ.

The men’s and women’s world junior individual championships take place at the Indian Academy, Chennai from 18-23 July followed by the biennial men’s world junior team championships. All players named to represent New Zealand will be taking part in this month’s national senior championships in Henderson.

Boys team:

1. Matthew Lucente - Auckland

2. Gabe Yam - Auckland

3. Temwa Chileshe - Waikato

4. Anthony Lepper - Auckland

5. Elijah Thomas (Development and Reserve Boys Team) - Auckland

6. Leo Fatialofa (Development) - Auckland

7. Glenn Templeton (Development Non-Travelling Reserve) - Bay of Plenty

Coaches Glen Wilson Auckland and Manu Yam Auckland


Girls team: 

1. Kaitlyn Watts - Central District

2. Anika Jackson - Waikato

3. Courtney Trail - Central District

4. Winona-Jo Joyce (Development) - Eastern

5. Annaliese Faint (Development) - Central District

6. Georgia Robcke (Development) - Waikato

7. Diya Joukani (Development Non-travelling reserve) - Auckland 

Coaches Robbie Wyatt BOP and Phil Buscke Waikato