New category to recognise volunteers in Sports Clubs of the Year Awards

Monday 6 April 2009, 3:54PM

By Sport Horowhenua


Volunteers are an essential part of sport, so it is only fitting that those volunteers will have a chance to be recognised at this year’s Sports Clubs of the Year Awards.

Nominations are now open for the sports awards which include a new category this year: Club Volunteer of the Year.

“The new category aims to recognise the dedication of all those volunteers who are vital to the success of any sports club. We’ve realised that in the past this has been a gap in the awards that we run and really want to be able to acknowledge the hard work of volunteers, says Sport Manawatu’s club development coordinator, Tamara Scott.

Nominations are being sought from clubs, of all sizes, who feel they have achieved success that fits into the seven awards categories within the period 1 April 2008 to 31 March 2009. The achievement simply needs to be something that has had significant impact on the club, and an effect for members or the community.

Award categories are; financial management, operational development, player development, volunteer development, event management, marketing management and facility development. Clubs can nominate themselves in more than one category and all clubs who nominate themselves for the awards go in the draw to win some great prizes.

The nominations for the awards have been opened early this year to ensure all clubs have a chance to get their nominations in. “Time is a major issue for many clubs who are run by committed volunteers – by extending the nomination period, hopefully more clubs will have the chance to put together some quality nominations and be able to be recognised for the great work they do in our community,” says Tamara.

The awards are open to all clubs in the Sport Manawatu region (Palmerston North, Manawatu, Horowhenua, and Tararua Districts) and aim to promote club development and recognise the good work that clubs are doing in our region. Nominations close on Friday May 15 and the overall campaign will conclude with an awards function held in June.