Coppins at Canelinha, Brazil Coppins at Canelinha, Brazil CREDIT: Josh "Lizzard" Coppins

Coppins puts in a strong show at Brazilian MX GP

Monday 14 September 2009, 8:48PM
By Josh "Lizzard" Coppins

The fifteenth and final round of the MX1 Motocross World championships held in Canelinha, Brazil has seen a positive end to Josh Coppins’s 2009 MX GP campaign. The Yamaha Monster Energy rider, posted a 5-3 score to secure 4th overall for the GP and 6th in the championship standings.

Saturday’s qualifying program was postponed to Sunday morning due to constant rainfall that plagued the region leading up to the event. Thankfully, clear skies dawned for race-day with perfect track conditions and a sellout crowd all the makings for a great days racing.

Having qualified 7th, Coppins had a good pick of the gate but got bunched in at the start going into the sharp right handed first turn in race 1. Emerging in 6th as riders jostled for positions on the opening lap, Coppins seemed unsettled but soon the experienced Kiwi found his rhythm and his superior fitness would see him relegate newly crowned World champion, Antonio Cairoli to 6th position by the end of the moto to finish 5th.

A better start in race 2 would see Coppins in a podium spot however he lost some valuable positions in the first five minutes of the moto. Max Nagl was first on the hit list as Coppins re-started his assault and moved up the standings. He then disposed of Ken De Dycker and team-mate Philippaerts before focusing his sights on first moto winner, Clement Desalle. Coppins reeled the Belgian in with five minutes to go and tried everything possible to make a move however Desalle remained a road block and did not give away any opportunities to Coppins with positions unchanged at the chequered flag.

“I really enjoyed the track this weekend and I must commend the organizers and Youthstream for doing a great job and turning the track around after such bad weather. My starts were ok in both motos but I battled the first five minutes in the second moto and then finally found my rhythm to fight back. I did all I could to pass Desalle on the last lap but he never bottled so I was a little bit disappointed to lose out on the overall podium. It’s been a great 3 years with the Yamaha Monster Energy team – I have been riding GP’s for 14 years now and today I proved that I still have it in me to fight for podiums so I’m quite pumped to end off the season on a strong note” commented the thirty-two year old New Zealander.

Coppins now heads to Italy where he will captain Team New Zealand in the 63rd edition of the Motocross of Nations to be held in Franciacorta, Italy, on the 3-4 October.

Image: CDS

Race results:

MX1 Race 1
1 Desalle, Clement BEL Honda
2 Nagl, Maximilian GER KTM
3 Philippaerts, David ITA Yamaha
4 de Dycker, Ken BEL Suzuki
5 Coppins, Joshua NZL Yamaha
6 Cairoli, Antonio ITA Yamaha
7 Ramon, Steve BEL Suzuki
8 Leok, Tanel EST Yamaha
9 Swanepoel, Gareth RSA Kawasaki
10 Balbi Jr., Antonio Jorge BRA Honda
11 Campano, Carlos ESP Yamaha
12 Church, Tom GBR CCM
13 Dougan, Jason GBR CCM
14 de Reuver, Marc NED Honda
15 Bill, Julien SUI Aprilia

MX1 Race 2
1 Ramon, Steve BEL Suzuki
2 Desalle, Clement BEL Honda
3 Coppins, Joshua NZL Yamaha
4 de Dycker, Ken BEL Suzuki
5 Nagl, Maximilian GER KTM
6 Campano, Carlos ESP Yamaha
7 Philippaerts, David ITA Yamaha
8 Vuillemin, David FRA Kawasaki
9 Swanepoel, Gareth RSA Kawasaki
10 Bill, Julien SUI Aprilia
11 Balbi Jr., Antonio Jorge BRA Honda
12 Cairoli, Antonio ITA Yamaha
13 Church, Tom GBR CCM
14 Garcia, Wellington BRA Honda
15 Da Silva Faria, Rafael BRA KTM

MX1 GP Overall:
1 Desalle, Clement BEL Honda 47
2 Ramon, Steve BEL Suzuki 39
3 Nagl, Maximilian GER KTM 38
4 Coppins, Joshua NZL Yamaha 36
5 de Dycker, Ken BEL Suzuki 36
6 Philippaerts, David ITA Yamaha 34
7 Campano, Carlos ESP Yamaha 25
8 Swanepoel, Gareth RSA Kawasaki 24
9 Cairoli, Antonio ITA Yamaha 24
10 Balbi Jr., Antonio Jorge BRA Honda 21
11 Bill, Julien SUI Aprilia 17
12 Church, Tom GBR CCM 17
13 Vuillemin, David FRA Kawasaki 13
14 Leok, Tanel EST Yamaha 13
15 Garcia, Wellington BRA Honda 11

MX1 Final world championship standings:
1 Cairoli, A. ITA 561
2 Nagl, M. GER 525
3 Desalle, C. BEL 508
4 Philippaerts, D. ITA 497
5 de Dycker, Ken BEL 495
6 Coppins, J. NZL 485
7 Leok, Tanel EST 395
8 Swanepoel, G. RSA 262
9 Barragan, J. ESP 229
10 Ramon, Steve BEL 217
11 Priem, Manuel BEL 195
12 Leok, Aigar EST 188
13 Vuillemin, D. FRA 163
14 Aranda, G. FRA 143
15 Church, Tom GBR 134