Northern Dominate Trans-Tasman Battlejos

Wednesday 27 April 2011, 4:56PM

By Badminton New Zealand



The Northern Region New Zealand No1 team has re-affirmed its supremacy in trans-Tasman badminton winning the June Bevan Trophy under17 teams competition in emphatic style with a 13 matches to three victory over the Victorian Rebels, indoors at the Renouf Tennis Centre in Wellington.

The Northern side completed its title run remaining undefeated as a team throughout the competition. They have now won the tournament nine times out of the past 10 years. Only the Victorian Rebels team were able to break their stranglehold by winning the trophy last year.

Northern's Lillian Shih and Dylan Soedjasa were two of the leading players of the event playing at No1 singles in the Northern Region team. The two 16-year-olds, Shih from Pakuranga High School who made the women's singles final of the 2011 New Zealand Championships and Soedjasa from Westlake Boys High School has been named in the New Zealand Junior (u19) National Squad.

A potential star of the future for New Zealand is Central [Julie] Region player Elliot Pike(Hutt Valley). The 15-year-old from Hutt Valley High School who was Central's Player of the Year in 2010 and is in his third year as June Bevan Carnival player. He was able to contend and beat many older players from New Zealand and Australia and helped his Central(1) side to fourth position after they eventually went down to New South Wales in the third and fourth playoffs.

All players from the 18 teams which took part in the teams event now compete in the Australasian under17 individual tournament which starts today(Wednesday) and continues until the finals on Saturday indoors at the Renouf Tennis Centre in Wellington.

Playoff results:

Northern NZ (1) 13 Victorian Rebels(AUS) 3, NSW Thunder(AUS) 15 Central NZ (1) 1, Victorian Demons(AUS) 11 Northern NZ (3) 5, Northern NZ (2) 10 NSW Lightning(AUS) 6, Western Australia(AUS) 14 Mainland NZ (1) 2, Central NZ (2) 11 South Australia 5,

Overall Placings:

Northern NZ (1) 1, Victorian Rebels(AUS) 2, NSW Thunder(AUS) 3, Central NZ (1) 4, Victorian Demons(AUS) 5, Northern NZ (3) 6, Northern NZ (2) 7, NSW Lightning(AUS) 8, Western Australia(AUS) 9, Mainland NZ (1) 10, Central NZ (2) 11, South Australia 12, Territories(AUS) 13, Queensland(AUS) 14, Tasmania(AUS) 15, Central NZ(3) 16, Geraldton Western Australia(AUS) 17, Mainland NZ (3) 18.