Auckland real estate legend takes top spot

Wednesday 18 May 2011, 12:31PM
By Barfoot & Thompson


Legendary Remuera real estate agent Leila MacDonald has returned to the podium as Barfoot & Thompson’s top salesperson for 2011.

The leading accolade is Leila’s 13th, having also held the prestigious position between 1992 and 1998, in 2001, and again between 2003 and 2006.

Alongside the coveted number one spot, Leila has also boosted her title as the only agent in Barfoot & Thompson’s history to be the top salesperson in their branch every year for 20 years.

Barfoot & Thompson managing director Peter Thompson says Leila’s outstanding sales record over the last two decades is testament to her determination and skill.

“Her in-depth knowledge and ability in the high end residential property market is evidenced by her envious list of achievements and level of return business.

“Leila is the prime example of what is takes to be number one, a powerful combination of passion, experience and drive.”

Leila specialises in the premium property market, with her listing made up primarily of affluent homes in Auckland’s most sought-after suburbs, mansions and family estates. Highlight sales in the year ended 31 March 2011 were ten homes sold for more than $3m, including five sold for over $5m.

Leila was inducted into the Barfoot & Thompson Hall of Fame in 2008, joining five colleagues recognised for their accomplishments and dedication.

Alongside the top spot, Ian Croft of Pukekohe was recognised as Rural Salesperson of the Year, Barry Masefield of Whangaparaoa as Commercial Salesperson of the Year and Sue Evans of Takapuna as Rookie Salesperson of the Year for 2011.

Other salespeople from Barfoot & Thompson’s 1,200-strong force around Auckland and Northland were also acknowledge for their results, comprising the Barfoot & Thompson’s ‘Top 25’.

They are:

2. Nadja Court, Mairangi Bay
3= Philip Davis, City
3= Paul Humphries, City
5. Diana Buczkowski, Epsom
6. Yvonne Wang, Mairangi Bay
7. Jane Wang, Panmure
8. Johnson Chen, City
9. Daniel Huang, Meadowlands
10. Steve Koerber, Remuera
11. Elizabeth du Plessis, Pukekohe
12. Aken Yuan, New Lynn
13. Eddie Zhao, West Harbour
14. Alex Wu, New Lynn
15. Karin Cooper, St Heliers
16. William Tyndall, Pukekohe
17. Sunny Chae, Browns Bay
18. Helen Lam, Greenlane
19. Michael Ataman, Meadowbank
20. Steve Miles, Glen Eden
21. Scott Haydon, Greenlane
22. Paul Hodgman, Royal Oak
23. Anne-Marie Koszegi, Highland Park
24. John Zhang, Epsom
25. Sandra Forrester, Mt Eden