New Wintec Council Member Appointed

Friday 30 September 2011, 2:28PM
By Wintec

Maori advocate and chartered accountant Maxine Moana–Tuwhangai has been appointed to the Wintec Council.

Appointed by Tertiary Education Minister Steven Joyce earlier this month, Maxine will join existing Wintec council members: Gordon Chesterman (Chair), Mary Cave-Palmer, Clint Baddeley, Dianne Yates, Steve Tucker, Aaron Rink and Bryce Cooper.

Wintec’s Chair of Council Gordon Chesterman says: “We’re delighted with the appointment. Maxine will bring her wide experience to the table, including a Maori perspective.”

“Her roles with Waikato Regional Council, the Hamilton City Council, and the governing executive of Tainui will help strengthen our Council.”

Maxine has strong iwi links in the Waikato and King Country regions. She is a member of the Waikato Tainui–Te Aratura Board, chair of the Northern Region Health School, and an accredited environmental commissioner.

“I’m really looking forward to my role on the Wintec Council. I’ve been involved in early childhood education and currently chair the board of trustees for primary and secondary aged children so this is a continuation of my involvement in the education sector,” says Maxine.