Finalists announced for Sports Personality of the Year

Friday 14 October 2011, 3:49PM

By Sport Manawatu


For the first time, it will be up to the community to decide this year’s Manawatu Sports Personality of the Year.

Sport Manawatu have announced four finalists for the personality award, with the final winner being decided by public vote.

Jets Basketball coach Ryan Weisenberg, the Manawatu Turbos team, Silver Fern Liana Leota and stockcar legend Peter Rees are the four personality contenders.

“In the past this award has been decided by a group of judges, this year we wanted to make it the communities’ choice. The finalists were chosen from suggestions from the public and the final winner will be completely down to who the community supports,” says Sport Manawatu’s Sean O’Connor.

“Whoever receives the most votes will be announced the winner at the Central Energy Trust Sportsperson of the Year Awards on November 11,” he says.

“The criteria for personality suggestions was purposely kept quite wide, it included individuals, teams or groups that had made an impact on sport. This could have been through their talent, behaviour or attitude. It was a tough call to narrow down the suggestions to four finalists as we have some great personalities in sport!”

Voting closes 5pm Wednesday November 9, 2011 and can be made via

The 2011 Sports Personality of the Year is supported by the Manawatu Standard and More FM.