Sign up now!

Waimakariri Zone Committee meeting

Saturday 5 November 2011, 1:14PM
By Environment Canterbury


The Waimakariri Zone Committee will meet on Monday, 7 November, at the Waimakariri District Council in Rangiora.

At the meeting the committee will be updated on the progress of the Regional Committee and then hear from representatives from the Water Rights Trust and the Ashley-Rakahuri Rivercare Group.

The zone committee will also review its draft ZIP which recently closed for public feedback. The draft ZIP recommends actions, responsibilities and time-frames for activities to help achieve the principles, targets and goals set out in the Canterbury Water Management Strategy (CWMS).

The draft ZIP has been developed following numerous committee meetings and extensive stakeholder and community engagement to gather information about the region’s water resource. Well attended community feedback meetings were held in May to get feedback on the committee’s priority areas, and October for people to comment on the recommendations in the draft ZIP.

At Monday’s meeting the committee will review the feedback provided by stakeholders and the community and amend the draft ZIP before submitting a final version to Waimakariri District Council and Environment Canterbury.

Since the Waimakariri Zone Committee was formed in October 2010 it has had briefings from technical experts, a number of field trips around the district, meetings with a wide range of stakeholders to gauge the range of views on water management issues, as well as committee members talking with community members on water issues.

The zone committee operates as a joint committee of Environment Canterbury and the Waimakariri District Council. The Waimakariri Zone includes the Ashley River catchment and shares the Waimakariri catchment below the gorge with the Selwyn- Waihora and Christchurch-West Melton zones. It includes Kaiapoi, Rangiora and Oxford.

The Members of the Waimakariri Zone Committee are: Murray Lang, Bill Wilson, Darren Mann, Grant Edge, Claire McKay, Bryan Sulzberger, Clare Williams (Tūāhuiriri), Terrianna Smith (Taumutu), Environment Canterbury Commissioner Rex Williams and Waimakariri District Councillor Kevin Felstead.

Meeting information

Waimakariri Zone Committee meeting

Monday, 7 November 2011 at 3:30pm
Council Chamber,
Waimakariri District Council,
215 High Street,

Read the agenda (506kB)