Minister appoints 23 Visiting Justices

Tuesday 15 November 2011, 3:58PM
By Simon Power

Justice Minister Simon Power today announced the appointment of 23 Visiting Justices.

“Visiting Justices play an important role in New Zealand’s justice system,” Mr Power said.

“They have the authority to hear charges and appeals relating to offences against prison discipline, the treatment and conduct of prison inmates, and to inquire into alleged abuses in prisons.”

Barristers and solicitors, as well as Justices of the Peace, can be appointed by the Governor-General to be Visiting Justices.

All appointments are for a term of three years.

Mr Power said the appointments have been made in accordance with Cabinet Office advice on Government decisions in the pre-election period.

The appointees are:

Alastair Ross Armstrong, Barrister and Solicitor, Christchurch.
Frank Edward Ashworth, Justice of the Peace, Te Awamutu.
Sara Jane Brown, Barrister and Solicitor, Hamilton.
Carolynn Michelle Veronica Kahikatea Bull, QSO, Barrister, Christchurch.
Gina Christine de Graaff, Barrister and Solicitor, Wellington.
John Douglas Walter Gadsby, QSM, Justice of the Peace, Napier.
John Barry Mark Henderson, Barrister, New Plymouth.
Hewitt Royden Humphrey, Justice of the Peace, Wellington.
Caroline Margaret Kellaway, ONZM, Justice of the Peace, Christchurch.
Anita Maria Killeen, Barrister, Auckland.
Jonathan Grant Krebs, Barrister, Napier.
Dame Dawn Ruth Lamb, DBE, Justice of the Peace, Paraparaumu Beach.
Traicee Eugene McKenzie, Barrister and Solicitor, Invercargill.
William George Mathew, Justice of the Peace, Palmerston North.
Marion Grace Miller, MNZM, Justice of the Peace, Invercargill.
Simon James McKenzie Mount, Barrister, Auckland.
Heeni Phillips, Barrister, Auckland.
Lance Howard Pratley, Barrister and Solicitor, Wellington.
Michael James Robb, Barrister, Hamilton.
Shelley Rae Sage, Barrister, Auckland.
Ronda Tokona, Barrister and Solicitor, Dunedin.
Neville Berkley Trendle, MBE, Barrister, Wellington.
Michele Marina Wilkinson-Smith, Barrister, Whanganui.