McVean stars at Young Horse Champs

Monday 12 December 2011, 8:39AM


Katie McVean showed she’s got plenty of rising talent in her stable winning two of the big classes at the National Young Horse Jumping Championship Show in Dannevirke [yesterday].

The 25-year-old Olympian from Mystery Creek took three of the top four placings in the seven year old championship while also winning the five year old championship and placing in the six year old championship.

Her trifecta in the seven year old championship was only stopped by fellow former Olympian Daniel Meech (Taupo) aboard Branson MVNZ. McVean won on Dunstan Springfield, was second on Dunstan Delilah and fourth on Dunstan Kiwi Iron Mark.

McVean says she had no favoured mount heading into the jump-off, and all three had starred at various times throughout the season for her. Delilah is the half sister to Delphi, and both Springfield and Delilah are by Indoctro.

And she figures she has a super speedy little star in the making in her five year old champ Dunstan Carlo who only arrived from the Netherlands in September. It was the first time the horse has ever jumped against the clock and he fairly flew home clean and clear in a time none could match.

“The more I pushed him in the jump-off, the higher he jumped,” she says.

Logan Massie (Dannevirke) and Double J Cloud Nine won the six year old championship.

“She’s just a super little horse who I have always rated,” said the 17-year-old who bred the horse in partnership with the Jacobs.

Massie was also third in the young rider championship aboard Kiwi Ludo.

Queensland edged out New Zealand to take the honours in the trans Tasman young rider test after a strong final day performance.

The three day championships are one of the highlights on the equestrian calendar for young horses.

Results -

Cushionride Seven Year Old: Katie McVean (Cambridge) Dunstan Springfield (owned by Sarah Milne and Chele Clarkin) 1, Katie McVean (Cambridge) Dunstan Delilah 2, Daniel Meech (Taupo) Branson MVNZ 3, Katie McVean (Cambridge) Dunstan Kiwi Iron Mark (owned by June Berrington) 4, Catherine Cameron (Cambridge) Lights Out, Kim Best (Otane) Giggles, Robert Steele (Taranaki) Rollette =5.

Mitavite Six Year Old: Logan Massie (Dannevirke) Double J Cloud 9 1, Jake Lambert (Cambridge) Kiwi Express 2, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Parker 3, Josh Collins (Ocean Beach Spotnik NZPH 4, Brooke Zander (Waipukurau) Double J Rumours 5, Katie McVean (Cambridge) Dunstan Breeze, Oliver Edgecombe (Waipukurau) Brainy G, Caroline Parkes (Taupo) Classic Arrow =6.

Goldengrove Stud Five Year Old: Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Carlo 1, Kim Best (Otane) Mr Wiggle2, Josh Collins (Hastings) Turn it Blue NZPH 3, Karen Riddle (Cambridge) Wickliffe Vinnington 4, Sally Clark (Dannevirke) Victoria’s Secret 5, Josh Collins (Ocean Beach) Triumphant, Jesse Linton (Hastings) AP Ninja 6=

Ngahiwi Station Sport Horses Four Year Old: Jesse Linton (Hawke’s Bay) Mustang Mack (owned by Noni Morgan) 1, Lydia Quay (Stratford) Our Finn, Kristina O’Donnell (Palmerston North) My Tom Tom, Kayleigh Kent (Hawke’s Bay) Ghana, Hayley-Ann Oakely (Waikanae) Master of Cossack =2, Jesse Linton (Hawke’s Bay) Kiwi Jet 6.

Trans Tasman Young Rider test: Queensland – Nelson Smythe, Brock Everingham, Hugh Buchanan and Gemma Creighton 10 points 1, New Zealand – Mathew Dickey (Taranaki), Danielle Maurer (Auckland), Tegan Fitzsimon (Canterbury), Luke Dee (Gisborne) 7 points 2.

KiwiSpan Junior Rider: Jamie Thurlow (Waverly) Clifton Ali 1, Tayla Mason (Waikanae) Cufflink 2, Melody Matheson (Hastings) Scottish Lad 3, Lisa Hogg (Ohope) The Mighty Quinn 4, Emily Fraser (Dannevirke) Kiwi Relic 5, Kate Allen (Cambridge) Delta Pierre

Iverquantel Amateur Rider: Simon Harrison (Wanganui) Watkins 1, Brooke Zander (Waipukurau) Double J Rumours 2, Lisa Davidson (Masterton) Striking Gladiator 3, Jackie Jermyn (Hamilton) Landenfeld 4, Sarah Dalziell (Masterton) Benrose Super Star 5, Kirsty Fabish (Stratford) Midnight Raz My Jazz 6.

Giltrap Audi Young Rider: Tim Myers (Taranaki) Pick Me NZPH 1, Natasha Brooks (Cambridge) Hairy McLairy 2, Logan Massie (Dannevirke) Kiwi Ludo 3, Mathew Dickey (New Plymouth) Kiwi Guard 4, Lisa Hogg (Ohope) IQ 5, Mathew Dickey (New Plymouth) Witzcellar 6.

STH Pro Amateur: Zoe Shore (Cambridge) Olympia NZPH 1, Lydia Quay (New Plymouth) Kaipara Double Dee 2, Desiree Foxley (Hastings) Knights Templar 3, Kim Best (Otane) IQ 4, Chloe Akers (Opiki) HR Khemosabi 5, Tim Finch (Waipukurau) Mr Munga 3 6.