NZU21 Triallists Announced

Friday 6 July 2012, 8:42AM

By Netball New Zealand


5 July 2012: Netball New Zealand today announced the 18 players chosen as to take part in the NZU21 trials held in Auckland from the 13^th-14^thJuly 2012. All players selected for these trials are eligible for the World Youth Championships in Glasgow 2013

These players are a mixture of current NZU21Squad members, Emerging Talent Accelerant Squad members and those who have performed to a high level during College Netball, the ANZ Championship and / or at this week’s NZ Age Group Championships held in Henderson’s Trusts Stadium Arena.

From these trials a team of 12 will be selected to represent New Zealand at an U21 tournament run by Netball Australia in Ballarat Melbourne from the 20^th– 30^thof August 2012.

Other teams who are attending the tournament are Australia, England, South Africa and Samoa. This tournament is providing build up to the World Youth Championships in Glasgow, August 2013.

NZU21 Coach Janine Southby is encouraged by the selected triallists.

“It is pleasing to see the work that has gone on by each individual player in the off-season to grow and develop their skills, fitness and ability.” Southby said.

“This is an opportunity for these young players to really start pushing for World Youth Championships selection.”

The NZU21 final squad for WYC will be selected post Finals Week of the Lion Foundation Netball Champs in October.

NZU21 Triallists 2012

Court Area Name DOB Region Age Group / Level SHOOTERS Te Paea Selby-Rickit 14.01.1992 Otago U21 / ANZC Steel Tera-Maria Amani 06.08.1993 Auckland Waitakere U21 Elizabeth Hayman 28.02.1992 Canterbury U21 Gemma Hazeldine 15.08.1992 Canterbury U21 Malia Paseka 23.09.1994 Netball North U19 Sophia Fenwick 12.12.1992 Canterbury U21 / ANZC Tactix Brooke Leaver 17.12.1993 Waikato U21 MID COURT Nicola Mackle 28.09.1992 Wellington U21 Kirsten Hurley 28.06.1992 Counties Manukau U21 Nadia Loveday 09.07.1994 Counties Manukau U19 Rebekah Roache 27.7.1994 Auckland U19 Stacey Peeters 30.3.1992 Otago U21 Samantha Sinclair 5.06.1995 Bay of Plenty U19 DEFENCE Storm Purvis 20.4.1993 Otago ANZC Steel Jessica Bourke 04.07.1993 Auckland Waitakere U21 Amy Christophers 4.1.1992 Waikato U21 Laura-Meg McGlone 01.01.1992 Wellington U21 Zoe Walker 11.11.1993 Otago U21

Coach: Janine Southby Assistant Coach: Adrienne Morrin Manager: Denise Leggat Physio: Jen Ferguson Statistician: Lindsay Filiata