Shake Up for Sports Awards

Wednesday 26 September 2012, 2:50PM
By Sport Manawatu


The introduction of a Disabled Athlete of the Year, Sportsman and Sportswoman of the year are among the big changes that will be introduced for the 2012 Manawatu Sportsperson of the Year Awards.

After consulting with the sporting community on a number of areas of the awards, changes have now been finalised and will be implemented for this year’s awards. Some of these changes include the introduction of Disabled Sportsperson of the Year, Sportsman of the Year and Sportswoman of the Year categories.  The Sportsperson of the Year now becomes a supreme award with the winner selected from the winners of the Sportsman, Sportswoman, Masters Sportsperson, Junior Sportsperson and Disabled Sportsperson categories.

In addition, the age range for the junior sportsperson of the year has been clarified as 21 years or under on the first day of the performance period and there is now more flexibility in the qualifying period for all categories.

Nominations are now open for the 2012 Central Energy Trust Manawatu Sportsperson of the Year awards and final submissions close on Wednesday 17 October.

Sport Manawatu have run the awards for the last 25 years with the aim of recognising the achievements of athletes, coaches, officials and administrators within the region – from local hero to elite professional.  

“When you look back at the previous winners across all the categories in the Manawatu Sportsperson of the Year Awards it is easy to see why we are such a proud sporting community,” says Sport Manawatu’s community sport manager, Sean O’Connor.

“We have had some fantastically talented athletes but also have a great range of people who support those athletes and administer sport in our region. Looking forward, the depth of talent is as deep as ever so we are excited about being able to recognise our top sportspeople and inspire the next generation.”

This year the awards evening is taking place in the Silks Lounge at the Awapuni Function Centre on Friday 9 November.

Nomination forms are available at Sport Manawatu or online at .