Sign up now!

Oceania Play Play Gets Underway In Invercargill

Wednesday 24 February 2010, 5:31PM
By Badminton New Zealand


The early matches of the Oceania Championships badminton tournament at Stadium Southland, Invercargill got underway with no major upsets and some Pacific Island players enjoying success before the big seeded competitors start hitting their straps.

Dangerous unseeded pairs of Glenn Warfe and Kate Wilson-Smith showed they will be a tough duo to beat in the large and strong mixed draw as they accounted for Aucklanders Kevin Dennerly-Minturn and Emma Rodgers while Southland’s James Eunson and Stephanie Cheng(Auckland) proved they could be a pair to watch as the defeated the New Caledonia team of Florian Ferrer and Natacha Offlaville in straight games in the first round.

The Oceana Championships and junior championships continue this week with the finals on Saturday and valuable Commonwealth Games ranking points on offer.

Initial Results:

(New Zealand unless named. All doubles and mixed pairs from the same nation, unless indicated)

Mixed first round:

Oliver Leydon-Davis/Jessica Jonggowisastro bt Shivneil Chand/Danielle Whiteside(Fiji) 21-9 21-9, Zheran Li/Madeleine Stapleton bt Toby Wong/Aberaami Thananjeyan(Australia) 21-16 21-17, Brock Matheson/Amanda Brown bt Teiva Livine/Ingrid Ateni(Tahiti) 21-15 21-11, Chad Whitehead/Leanne Choo(Australia) bt Brent Miller/Emma Chapple 21-10 21-6, Evan Lee/Victoria Cheng bt Cham Chen/Melinda Sun(Australia) 21-13 21-18, Marc Antoine Desaymoz/Johanna Kou(New Caledonia) bt Maika Phillips/Anona Pak 21-15 21-10, Luke Charlesworth/Mary O’Connor bt Burty Molia/Andra Whiteside(Fiji) 21-18 21-18, Fabien Kaddour/Valerie Sarengat(New Caledonia) bt Howard Shih-Kai Chou/Aviva Pak 21-16 21-7, Leo Cucuel/Tehani Giau(Tahiti) bt Tohams Ellis(New Zealand)/Gabriella Wong(Fiji) 21-11 21-17, James Eunson/Stephanie Cheng bt Florian Ferrer/Natacha Offlaville(New Caledonia) 21-10 21-7, Glenn Warfe/Kate Wilson-Smith(Australia) bt Kevin Dennerly-Minturn/Emma Rodgers 21-12 21-15, Brendon Tifu/Buddhima Fernando(Australia) bt Glenn Gowet/Melissa Sanmoestanom(New Caledonia) 21-17 21-15, Sebastien Arias/Cecile Kaddour(New Caledonia) bt Asher Richardson/Melissa Yin 21-18 9-21 21-14.

Women’s singles first round:

Susannah Leydon-Davis bt Ingrid Ateni(Tahiti) 23-21 21-10, Andra Whiteside(Fiji) bt Anona Pak 21-17 21-7

Men’s singles first rond:

Marc Antoine Desaymoz(New Caledonia) bt Maika Phillips 21-11 21-12.