New Zealand Sport and Recreation Sector Awards finalists

Tuesday 7 April 2009, 3:32PM

SPARC is pleased to announce the finalists for the inaugural New Zealand Sport and Recreation Awards.

The awards have been supported by SPARC to recognise and celebrate industry excellence within the New Zealand sport and recreation sector.

Every year, there are unsung organisations and individuals making outstanding contributions to the sector.

These awards are designed to give recognition to those dedicated individuals and organisations raising standards in the sport and recreation sector.

An independent panel of judges, led by Sir Wilson Whineray, considered applications across a range of categories and chose the finalists.

The winners will be announced on 27 April 2009.

The finalists are:

Innovation Award

Awarded to an organisation which has successfully broken new ground with a sport or recreation project.

Mates in Bowls – Bowls New Zealand

RideStrong – Bike NZ

Sailing...Have a Go – Yachting New Zealand

Event Excellence Award

Awarded to an organisation which has displayed best practice in the delivery of an event.

11th World Bowls Competition 2008 – Bowls New Zealand

2008 Head World Masters Squash Championship – Squash New Zealand

FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup 2008 – New Zealand Football

Volkl Freeski Open 2008 – Snow Sports New Zealand

Project Collaboration Award

Awarded to organisations which have partnered in a successful sport and recreation collaboration.

ANZ National Championship-- New Zealand Netball, Netball Australia

City on its Feet -- Accident Compensation Corporation, Bay of Plenty District Health Board, Sport Bay of Plenty, Tauranga City Council

Hunter National Training Scheme-- New Zealand Deerstalkers' Association Inc, New Zealand Mountain Safety Council, New Zealand Police

Project Energize -- South Waikato Pacific Island Health Committee (SWPIHC), Sport and Leisure Studies Dept (University of Waikato), Sport Waikato, Te Kohao Health, Te Korowai Hauora O Hauraki, Waikato DHB, Wintec

Leadership Excellence Award

Awarded to a person who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in the sport and recreation sector.

Geoff Barry – Chief Executive, Surf Life Saving New Zealand

Dave Beeche – Chief Executive, Triathlon New Zealand

Kerry Clark – Chief Executive, Bowls New Zealand

Commercial Partnership Award

Awarded to an organisation which has demonstrated best practice in building a commercial partnership.

Sport Waikato and Mighty River Power

The Halberg Trust and Westpac

Triathlon New Zealand and Contact Energy

Lifetime Achievement Award

Announced on 27 April, the award will go to an individual who has made an outstanding lifetime contribution to the sport and recreation sector.