The Hyundai National Surfing Championships - Dunedin 2011

Wednesday 26 January 2011, 12:24AM
By New Zealand Greenroom Productions Ltd

Jan 2011 saw 'The Hyundai National Surfing Championships' contested on one of New Zealand's most exposed coastlines, Dunedin!

A town predominantly known for its student occupancy and legendary Rugby team, its also a coastline riddled with some of the finest surfing set ups known to man.

The event was a huge success for both Surfing NZ and its major sponsors Hyundai NZ and Sol, even though we were consistently bombarded with the classic Otago weather patterns of 4 seasons in one day! As a location for surfer, spectator and photographer, the Esplanade at the South end of St Clair couldn't be a more comfortable location base the competition from.

The swell was contestable for all 4 days of competition and up and down the coast was firing at times with numerous surf stories of epic sessions being told in detail at The Esplanade every morning!

The 2 video clips highlight some of best surfers from around of NZ going head to head with the winners entering the history books as National Champion's of 2011!


Sport: Surfing
Series: 2011 Hyundai National Surfing Championships - SOL Surf Series Event 2
Date: 13th - 16th January 2011
Location: St Clair Beach, Dunedin
Event Info: and

Men's Longboard Final
Thomas Kibblewhite (Auck), 14.83, 1, Matt Cockayne (Mngwhai), 11.07, 2, Kelly Ryan (Gis), 10.6, 3, Cale Tolley (Mnt), 10.3, 4

Stand Up Paddleboard
Daniel Kereopa (Rag), 15.3, 1, Sean Hovell (Gis), 13.9, 2, Shayne Baxter (ChCh), 12.3, 3, Arnie Armstrong (Rag), 10.3, 4

Women's Longboard
Hannah Joynt (Dun), 11.17, 1, Daisy Thomas (ChCh), 8.1, 2, Hannah Howard (Auck), 4.97, 3, Shelly Jones (Auck), 4.27, 4

Open Men's Final
Jay Quinn (Gis), 18, 1, Richard Christie (Mahia), 16.5, 2, Maz Quinn (Gis), 14.1, 3, Morehu Roberts (Rag), 11.6, 4

Under 18 Men's Final
Ben Poulter (Rag), 13.87, 1, Tane Wallis (Piha), 12.17, 2, Jacob Kohn (Gis), 10.93, 3, Joe Moretti (Mimiwhangata), 7.47, 4

Open Women's Final
Airini Mason (Gis), 15.4, 1, Ella Williams (Whmata), 14.9, 2, Jessica Santorik (Rag), 12.7, 3, Hayley Coakes (Dun), 8, 4

A Complete list of all 2011 results and past National Champions are located on the Surfing New Zealand website under History.

Please see below for the remaining five events that make up the 20010/11 SOL Surf Series.

Sol Series Event 3 - 29-31 January - Billabong Pro presented by Sony, Whangamata (6-star)
Sol Series Event 4 - 12-13 February - Power Balance Pro, Mount Maunganui (4-star)
Sol Series Event 5 - 11-13 March - Rip Curl Pro, Raglan (6-star)
Sol Series Event 6 - 2-3 April SOL Super 16, Mobile (6-star)

The remaining events on the 2011 Hyundai Pro Longboard Tour follow:

Hyundai Pro Longboard Tour Event 3, 4-6 February, Sandy Bay (SNZ 6-star / ASP LQS 1-star)
Hyundai Pro Longboard Tour Event 4, 19-20 February, Mount Maunganui (4-star)
Hyundai Pro Longboard Tour Event 5, 4-5 March, Port Waikato (6-star)

Further Information
For further information on the 2011 Hyundai National Championships please contact Surfing New Zealand's Ben Kennings on 021 2278732 or email Alternatively contact Hyundai Brand Manager Devyn Cantley on 0275541548 or email

Web clips and newsfeeds will be distributed free of charge from each event. Please contact Ben Kennings for further details.

High resolution action images of the surfing at all events on the SOL Surf Series will be available to media free of charge upon request.

Generous support from Hyundai, SOL and South Coast Boardriders has made this event possible.

Surfing New Zealand are proudly partnered by