infonews.co.nz + Add Your News
NEWS   PHOTOS   PROFILES   INDEX  

New Zealand Science News Index


Thursday, 12 October
3:02PM SCIENCE Mission Possible- Spring School Holiday Fun – Spacecraft, Spooks and Stars at Stardome 270

Friday, 26 May
8:31PM SCIENCE May Events at Stardome 207

Wednesday, 22 February
4:07PM SCIENCE Spend Valentine's Night Under the Stars at Stardome Observatory & Planetarium 178

Tuesday, 29 March
10:09AM SCIENCE Give Your Partner The Stars At Stardome On Valentine's Day 212

Monday, 15 February
3:34PM SCIENCE All About Stardome Observatory & Planetarium 266

Thursday, 16 May
1:16PM SCIENCE UC's Roy Kerr heads to Europe to receive the Einstein Medal 628

Thursday, 7 February
6:04PM SCIENCE Grass Fellowship Provides Rare Research Opportunity 394
1:34PM SCIENCE National Science Challenge Panel appointed 504

Sunday, 20 January
3:25PM SCIENCE UC researcher looking at how life began on Earth 568

Friday, 18 January
3:01PM SCIENCE Avenues opened by new understanding of brain injury in preterm infants 474

Thursday, 17 January
4:15PM SCIENCE Otago collaboration throws doubt on earlier "killer walrus" claims 507
3:21PM SCIENCE Two NZ astronomers from UC to study the universe through world's biggest telescope 417

Friday, 21 December
1:20PM SCIENCE Danish expert at UC for two years to study climate change impact on NZ ecosystems 458

Thursday, 13 December
4:22PM SCIENCE Surprising discovery about weta ears reveals similarity with whales 1085

Tuesday, 4 December
3:26PM SCIENCE $52.8m of funding for new science projects 458

Monday, 3 December
11:45AM SCIENCE International Deep-Sea Biology Symposium comes to the Southern Hemisphere for the first time 558

Monday, 26 November
8:48AM SCIENCE Adult Stem Cells to Grow-Your-Own Corneal Implant 554

Monday, 19 November
11:23AM SCIENCE Science and Innovation Group adopt Syl Search 310

Friday, 16 November
1:50PM SCIENCE Up to two thirds of marine species unknown to science 310

Thursday, 8 November
3:43PM SCIENCE Public to have say on NZ Science Challenges 326

Tuesday, 6 November
12:58PM SCIENCE First sighting of world's rarest whale 311

Monday, 5 November
1:21PM SCIENCE Project aims to tame toxic metal 317

Thursday, 1 November
11:49PM SCIENCE Future environmental science leaders at Environment Canterbury 184
10:10AM SCIENCE Student scholarships awarded for Rena research 221

Friday, 26 October
3:40PM SCIENCE Bird-brains solve problems spontaneously 179

Thursday, 25 October
1:24PM SCIENCE Science research given $54 million boost 110

Friday, 19 October
2:57PM SCIENCE Soil gene sequencing for science buffs 171

Wednesday, 17 October
12:42PM SCIENCE Geothermal research seminar at UC next month 166

Thursday, 11 October
12:46PM SCIENCE Final UC Science Café looks at international law and protecting Antarctica 195

Wednesday, 10 October
5:19PM SCIENCE Chilean biologist saving forests with frogs 119

Monday, 8 October
6:29PM SCIENCE Govt to enlist public on NZ Science Challenges 120

Monday, 1 October
4:21PM SCIENCE New discovery to improve success rates of IVF 89

Thursday, 27 September
12:09PM SCIENCE Crucial advance in stem cell research 157

Tuesday, 18 September
1:10PM SCIENCE Lecture to address biology-chemistry relationship 82

Monday, 17 September
10:56AM SCIENCE Cutting edge UC research to help people hear better 142

Friday, 14 September
5:20PM SCIENCE Joyce to visit US to promote NZ science 118
4:01PM SCIENCE NIWA celebrates success of the Montreal Protocol 291

Monday, 10 September
2:44PM SCIENCE New UC research spin-out company launched and pursuing spacecraft solutions 124

Thursday, 6 September
4:05PM SCIENCE Environment Canterbury commends student science projects 170

Wednesday, 5 September
3:21PM SCIENCE Next generation sequencing leads lecture series 95

Friday, 31 August
8:18AM SCIENCE UC PhD students entering their world-first geothermal game in Florida competition 654

Thursday, 30 August
9:19AM SCIENCE Otago Uni. Genetics Lecture Outdated and Unfair 126

Wednesday, 29 August
12:33PM SCIENCE Expedition returns wealth of data on whales, sea lions and birds 367

Friday, 24 August
4:21PM SCIENCE New Zealand excellence in drug discovery attracts Asian science leaders 106
3:27PM SCIENCE Govt invests $133m in new science projects 81

Tuesday, 21 August
12:09PM SCIENCE Otago researcher heads new Antarctic science foundation 128

Friday, 17 August
3:43PM SCIENCE Top horticulture paper honoured 161

Wednesday, 15 August
5:26PM SCIENCE Lecture: Tongariro re-awakens - what now? 119

Monday, 13 August
1:58PM SCIENCE Otago researchers provide exciting first glimpse into the competitive brain 66

Thursday, 9 August
1:06PM SCIENCE Massey researchers on trail of China's golden monkey 199

Wednesday, 8 August
2:43PM SCIENCE 30 Young Blake explorers set off on historic journey 474

Tuesday, 7 August
2:51PM SCIENCE Massey staff help monitor Tongariro eruption 120

Thursday, 19 July
3:34PM SCIENCE Ultra low level biodetection achieved by Dublin researchers on standard qNano nanopore instrument 148

Wednesday, 18 July
8:55AM SCIENCE Characteristics of successful malaria parasites in New Zealand bird populations have been identified for the first time 170

Tuesday, 10 July
11:04AM SCIENCE 2012 Science festival 'huge success' 105

Friday, 29 June
1:12PM SCIENCE Bite mark bacteria provide potential forensic clues 113

Monday, 25 June
6:58AM SCIENCE Scifest 'science idol' category winners announced 156

Friday, 22 June
12:55PM SCIENCE Methane and hydrogen could be the key to life on Mars 109

Thursday, 21 June
2:14PM SCIENCE Brightest minds compete at Brain Bee 79

Tuesday, 19 June
8:24AM SCIENCE Float your boat! Scientists use hi-tech miniature Q-boat to measure river flows 272

Thursday, 14 June
12:39PM SCIENCE Evolutionary benefits of sex in difficult places 68

Wednesday, 13 June
2:32PM SCIENCE Funding awarded for Taranaki eruption recovery plan 90

Tuesday, 12 June
8:13AM SCIENCE Scientists set to spy on rockhopper penguins 283

Friday, 8 June
4:35PM SCIENCE How enzymes can help farmers 195

Thursday, 7 June
3:12PM SCIENCE Izon Science granted core patents for elastomeric nanopore technology 135

Wednesday, 6 June
2:36PM SCIENCE Transit of Venus centre of big week for NZ science 77

Tuesday, 5 June
8:23AM SCIENCE Science festival tickets now on sale 279

Tuesday, 29 May
6:26PM SCIENCE Stonehenge Aotearoa to celebrate Transit of Venus 235

Monday, 28 May
11:53PM SCIENCE SKA decision a breakthrough for Australia-New Zealand science 167

Friday, 25 May
3:48AM SCIENCE $326m boost for science, innovation, and research 100

Wednesday, 23 May
1:04PM SCIENCE Survey data gives Northland 'a real edge' 193

Tuesday, 22 May
3:26PM SCIENCE Otago honours ocean research group's achievements 234

Monday, 21 May
3:32PM SCIENCE Aoraki Mount Cook the place to be for once in a lifetime stargazing event 314

Thursday, 17 May
3:05PM SCIENCE NASA Astronaut to attend science festival 135

Wednesday, 16 May
4:50PM SCIENCE Discovery could lead to greener ways of making drugs 192
12:33PM SCIENCE Media Release: New scientific techniques used to investigate Port Hills rock falls 83

Thursday, 10 May
8:10AM SCIENCE BBC Presenter Professor Alice Roberts to attend 2012 NZ International Science Festival 547

Tuesday, 8 May
5:09PM SCIENCE NASA interest in UC industrial coating research 165

Friday, 4 May
1:51PM SCIENCE Massey PhD student inspired by Nobel scientists 146

Thursday, 3 May
5:38PM SCIENCE Massey PhD student inspired by Nobel scientists 168

Tuesday, 17 April
12:45PM SCIENCE Study reveals how anaesthesia causes jet-lag 119

Friday, 13 April
5:37PM SCIENCE Major funding boost for quake research 117

Thursday, 12 April
4:15PM SCIENCE Govt backs emerging Kiwi researchers 103

Wednesday, 11 April
5:05PM SCIENCE Exhibition shows importance of science to NZ 108
2:08PM SCIENCE Spying on our great white sharks 124

Tuesday, 13 March
8:04AM SCIENCE Venus to Cross the Sun 186

Wednesday, 7 March
5:05PM SCIENCE Media Release: Renowned Scientist receives IRL Industry and Outreach Fellowship 135

Wednesday, 29 February
2:58PM SCIENCE Giant pre-historic NZ penguin reconstructed at Otago 110

Wednesday, 22 February
5:34PM SCIENCE Science leads 'second industrial revolution' 164
3:14PM SCIENCE School scientists to dig dirt for NZ microbe census 136
2:21PM SCIENCE Cloud changes may lower global temperature 106

Tuesday, 21 February
3:21PM SCIENCE Victoria researchers help develop map of Milky Way 191

Friday, 17 February
5:27PM SCIENCE Bioscience gives a healthy injection to New Zealand's economy 162
3:37PM SCIENCE Vitamin C may enhance radiation therapy for aggressive brain tumours 163

Tuesday, 14 February
4:51PM SCIENCE Massey distinguishes two Albany science professors 349

Friday, 10 February
12:52PM SCIENCE New Zealand scientists discover how infection triggers blood stem cell growth 143

Thursday, 9 February
3:28PM SCIENCE International experts set sail to see how the ocean creates clouds 175

Tuesday, 7 February
11:53AM SCIENCE Industrial-strength award for Massey mathematician 161

Wednesday, 1 February
2:18PM SCIENCE Research helps manage lucrative rock lobster industry 131

Thursday, 26 January
2:37PM SCIENCE A wee trick for getting rid of rats 146


NEWS   PHOTOS   PROFILES   INDEX